Media Release

Federation Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

Match day preview for 30 June 2006

  • Match 57 - Berlin - Germany v. Argentina*

Argentina and Germany have met 16 times to date; Argentina have won seven matches, Germany five, with the remaining four games ending in draws.

In terms of FIFA World Cup™ matches, Argentina and Germany have met on four occasions, two of which were finals; in 1986, Argentina won 3-1 to become World Champions; four years later, Germany won the title with a 1-0 win. Their other two FIFA World Cup™ encounters were group matches: in 1958, Germany FR won 3-1 and in 1966, they drew 0-0.

Germany's current coach Juergen Klinsmann faced Argentina as a player in the 1990 FIFA World Cup™ final in Rome; Germany FR won the title and so dethroned the 1986 champions, Argentina.

Five of the ten goals in FIFA World Cup™ head-to-heads between these two footballing powerhouses came in the last 20 minutes of play: Rahn scored Germany's third goal in their 3-1 win in 1958 (79th minute); Rummenigge (74th), Voeller (80th) and Burruchaga (83rd) all scored in the 1986 FIFA World Cup final; Brehme's decisive penalty in 1990 came shortly before the final whistle (85th).

Argentina have never won a FIFA World Cup match in regular time on 30 June, but have emerged victorious from two penalty shoot-outs on this date:

  • in 1974, they were defeated 1-2 by Brazil in a second-round match in Hanover

  • in 1990, their goalless quarter-final v. Yugoslavia went to extra-time; Argentina won 3-2 on penalties

  • in 1994, Bulgaria defeated Argentina 2-0 in a group match

  • in 1998, Argentina drew 2-2 with England after extra-time; Argentina won 4-3 on penalties

  • in 2002, Germany lost 0-3 to Brazil in the FIFA World Cup™ final.

However, regular time victories on this date include their 6-1 win over Austria in the 1954 semi-final and their 4-2 defeat of Sweden in a second-stage match in 1974.

Germany FR and Argentina are two of only six teams who have been involved in three FIFA World Cup™ penalty shoot-outs to date. Coincidently, they are the only two teams who have won all of them.

Argentina have contested five FIFA World Cup™ extra-time matches and have never been defeated.

Argentina and Germany FR met in a friendly in Berlin in 1979; the Europeans won 2-1.

Germany won their first four matches at this year's tournament. They are only the fourth host country team to do so; previously Uruguay (1930), Italy (1990) and France (1998) managed to do the same.

Germany today play their 90th FIFA World Cup™ match. Their first was on 27 May 1934 against Belgium (5-2). Only Brazil have contested more FIFA World Cup™ matches to date (total 91, incl. Brazil v. Ghana on 27 June 2006).

Match round-ups last three head-to-heads:

21.06.2006 – Nuremberg (GER)- FIFA Confederations Cup Germany 2005

Argentina - Germany 2-2 (1-1)


Attendance: 42,088

Argentina: LUX German, SAMUEL Walter, SORIN Juan, ZANETTI Javier, CAMBIASSO Esteban, HEINZE Gabriel, TEVEZ Carlos, RIQUELME Juan, COLOCCINI Fabricio, BERNARDI Lucas, FIGUEROA Lucho.


09.02.2005 – Duesseldorf (GER)– Friendly

Germany – Argentina 2-2 (2-1)

Scorers: Torsten Frings 28pen, Kevin Kuranyi 45; Hernan Crespo 40pen, 81

Attendance: 52,000

Germany: Jens Lehmann; Patrick Owomoyela, Per Mertesacker, Christian Woerns, Thomas Hitzlsperger, Bernd Schneider, Torsten Frings, Fabian Ernst, Bastian Schweinsteiger (Christian Schulz 74); Kevin Kuranyi, Gerald Asamoah (Paul Freier 29)

Argentina: Roberto Abbondanzieri; Javier Zanetti, Nicolas Burdisso, Gabriel Milito (Esteban Cambiasso 46), Gabriel Heinze; Lionel Scaloni (Maximiliano Rodriguez 46), Juan Roman Riquelme, Aldo Duscher (Luciano Galletti 77), Juan Pablo Sorin; Javier Saviola, Hernan Crespo

17.04.2002 – Stuttgart(GER) – Friendly

Germany – Argentina 0 (0-0)

Scorer: Juan Pablo Sorin 48

Attendance: 54,570

Germany: Jens Lehmann; Christoph Metzelder, Jens Nowotny, Thomas Linke (Frank Baumann 46); Torsten Frings (Martin Max 83), Jens Jeremies (Sebastian Kehl 77), Carsten Ramelow, Joerg Boehme (Lars Ricken 46); Michael Ballack; Miroslav Klose, Oliver Bierhoff (Carsten Jancker 70).

Argentina: Pablo Cavallero; Mauricio Pochettino, Walter Samuel, Facundo Quiroga, Matias Almeya; Juan Pablo Sorin, Pablo Aimar (Marcelo Gallardo 30, Santiago Solari 61), Gustavo Lopez (Javier Saviola 77), Javier Zanetti; Kily Gonzalez.

  • Match 58 - Hamburg - Italy v. Ukraine*

Italy and Ukraine have previously met three times, twice in the qualifying tournament for EURO 1996 with Italy winning both games (2-0 and 3-1) and in a friendly match played in Lausanne this June ending in a draw (0-0).

Italy have to date never lost a match in a FIFA World Cup™ quarter-final: they won five and tied two, losing one of them eventually after a penalty shoot-out against France in 1998.

Italy have already played a FIFA World Cup™ match on 30 June: in Rome 1990, they beat Ireland Republic 1-0 with a goal from Schillaci.

Italy will be playing their 75th FIFA World Cup™ match, being topped only by Brazil (total 91) and Germany who will play their 90th game against Argentina on 30 June.

Italy have previously met a FIFA World Cup™ newcomer thirteen times, with a record of nine wins, three draws and one defeat at the hands of Korea DPR in 1966. Ukraine is the second encounter for Italy against a newcomer at the current FIFA World Cup™ after beating Ghana in the group match 2-0.

For the third time in a row, at the FIFA World Cup™ a newcomer has advanced to the quarter-finals: Ukraine in 2006, Senegal in 2002 and Croatia in 1998.

Italy have won three of the six matches in which they had a player expelled; they defeated Norway (Pagliuca sent off) and Nigeria (red card for Zola) in 1994, and now Australia (Materazzi sent off).

Ukraine are only the third team in FIFA World Cup history to advance to the quarter-finals after losing a match by a margin of four or more goals at group stage. Previously, Germany FR lost 3-8 to Hungary (1954) and Cameroon lost 0-4 to the Soviet Union (1990).

Oleksandr Shovkovskyi is one of only eight goalkeepers to save two penalties in a penalty shoot-out. Only Schumacher(GER) and Goycoechea (ARG) succeeded in doing so on two occasions.

For the first time ever in a FIFA final competition the Ukraine have reached the quarter-finals: at the FIFA World Youth Championship 2001 and 2005 they were eliminated in the round of 16.

Ukraine is one of four teams that has not received a single card in a match of the 2006 FIFA World Cup™: Germany (v. Costa Rica), Spain (v. Ukraine), Saudi Arabia (v. Tunisia) and Ukraine (v. Switzerland).

Match round-ups: last head-to-head:

02.06.2006, Lausanne (SUI) – Friendly

Italy - Ukraine 0-0 Italy: Buffon; Oddo, Nesta (16' Barzagli), Cannavaro (30' Materazzi), Grosso; Camoranesi (24' Barone), Pirlo (13' Perrotta), De Rossi; Gilardino, Toni (13' Inzaghi), Del Piero (13' Totti).

Ukraine: Shovkoskyi; Yeserky, Rusol, Kalinischenko (10' Belik), Nemaschny; Vashchyuk, Gusin (45' Svidersky), Tymoschuk (43' Shelayev), Rotan (29' Nazarenko); Vorobei, Voronin.

FIFA Communications Division

Berlin, 28 June 2006