Media Release

Federation Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

Match day preview for 20 June 2006

  • Match # 33 - Berlin - ECUADOR-GERMANY*

This will be the first time that Ecuador and Germany meet.

In their last seven matches against South American teams, Germany failed to score in the first half but always netted in the last 30 minutes of play: in 1986, Klaus Allofs scored in the 84th minute v. Uruguay (final score 1-1); also in 1986, Rummenigge and Voeller scored in the 74th and 80th minute v. Argentina in the final (2-3); in 1990, Littbarski scored in the 89th minute v. Colombia (1-1); Brehme scored the decisive penalty in the 85th minute of the 1990 final v. Argentina (1-0); in 1994, current coach Klinsmann scored in the 61st minute v. Bolivia (1-0); in 2002, Neuville netted in the 88th minute v. Paraguay. The only exception is the 2002 final when Germany were defeated by Brazil without scoring (0-2).

In their only other FIFA World Cup™ match played in Berlin, Germany defeated Chile 1-0 (goal by Breitner in the 18th minute) on 14 June 1974.

Germany have played two other FIFA World Cup™ matches on this date, winning both: the 1970 match for 3rd place v. Uruguay (1-0) and a 1982 group match against Chile (4-1).

But 20 June also marks two significant defeats in German footballing history: at the 1954 FIFA World Cup™ they lost 3-8 to Hungary, and in 1976, they were defeated by Czechoslovakia at the European Championship final on penalties (2-2 aet, Uli Hoeness missed the decisive penalty).

  • Match # 34 - Hanover - COSTA RICA-POLAND*

This is the first time that Costa Rica and Poland meet in an official competition. Both previous head-to-heads were won by Poland: 4-2 in 1989 and 2-0 in 1990.

Poland will meet a CONCACAF team at the FIFA World Cup™ for the fourth time; in three previous matches they always won, scoring at least three goals: 7-0 v. Haiti in 1974, 3-1 v. Mexico in 1978 and 3-1 v. USA in 2002.

This will be the 100th match for a CONCACAF team at the FIFA World Cup™; the first ever CONCACAF representatives were USA and Mexico who faced Belgium and France respectively on 13 July 1930, the first day of the inaugural FIFA World Cup.

  • Match # 35 - Cologne - SWEDEN-ENGLAND*

Sweden and England have met 20 times with a record of six wins each and eight draws. Their first meeting came in 1923. England have not defeated Sweden since 22 May 1968, 38 years ago, when they won a friendly match 3-1 at Wembley stadium; since then, Sweden have won four and drawn seven matches. In FIFA World Cup™ final competitions and qualifiers, they have always tied: they drew 0-0 twice in qualifiers for the 1990 FIFA World Cup™ and at the 2002 FIFA World Cup™, they drew 1-1 in a group match in Saitama (goals by Campbell in the 24th minute and Alexandersson in the 59th minute).

16 years ago, on 20 June 1990, Sweden lost 1-2 v. Costa Rica and were eliminated from the competition.

England have won two FIFA World Cup™ matches on this date, both by a margin of 2-0 (v. Switzerland in 1954, v. Czechoslovakia in 1982).

Sweden have failed to win their final group match in their last four FIFA World Cup™ participations. Their last win at this point of the competition was in 1974 (v. Uruguay 3-0). Following this, they lost 0-1 to Spain in 1978, 1-2 v. Costa Rica in 1990, drew 1-1 v. Brazil in 1994 and drew 1-1 v. Argentina in 2002.

  • Match #36 - Kaiserslautern - PARAGUAY-TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO*

Paraguay and Trinidad and Tobago drew in two previous head-to-heads (2-2 and 1-1), both of which were friendlies played in Trinidad in 1989.

Paraguay have never beaten a CONCACAF team at a FIFA World Cup™ final competition: in 1930 they lost 0-3 v. USA and in 1986 they drew 1-1 v. Mexico.

Without taking into account their first two FIFA World Cup™ appearances in 1930 and 1950 (played two group matches only) Paraguay have never lost and have scored at least two goals in their final game of first stage: 3-3 v. Yugoslavia in 1958, 2-2 v. Belgium in 1986, 3-1 v. Nigeria in 1998 and 3-1 v. Slovenia in 2002.

FIFA Communications Division

Berlin, 18 June 2006