Media Release

Federation Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

2006 FIFA World Cup™ Official FIFA Awards: Zidane wins adidas Golden Ball award

FIFA Fair Play Award (maximum: 1000 pts)

As part of its campaign to promote fair play, FIFA regularly holds a fair play contest during its competitions. This is based on an appraisal of the teams' conduct on and off the field by the members of the FIFA Technical Study Group.

Every match in the final competition is taken into account, but only teams that go to the second stage of the competition are eligible for the FIFA Fair Play Award.


Korea/Japan 2002: Belgium

France 1998: England / France

USA 1994: Brazil

Italy 1990: England

Mexico 1986: Brazil

adidas Golden Ball Award:

This award goes to the outstanding player of the competition, as voted by the media present at the 2006 FIFA

World Cup Germany™.


2002: Oliver KAHN (GER)



1990: Salvatore SCHILLACI (ITA)

1986: Diego MARADONA (ARG)

adidas Golden Shoe Award:

In keeping with tradition, adidas presents the Golden Shoe award to the tournament's top goalscorer. Assists serve as a tie-breaker if two or more players finish equal on goals scored.


2002: RONALDO (BRA), 8 goals

1998: Davor SUKER (CRO), 6 goals

1994: Hristo STOICHKOV (BUL), Oleg SALENKO (RUS), 6 goals

1990: Salvatore SCHILLACI (ITA), 6 goals

1986: Gary LINEKER (ENG), 6 goals

The Most Entertaining Team award presented by Yahoo!:

Most Entertaining Team: PORTUGAL

The FIFA Award for the Most Entertaining Team is a subjectively awarded prize for the team which has done the most to entertain the public with a positive approach to the game. The award is always organised through public participation in a poll of


2002: Korea Republic

1998: France

1994: Brazil

Yashin Award for the Best Goalkeeper

Best Goalkeeper: Gianluigi BUFFON, ITA #1

The Yashin Award for the Best Goalkeeper is named in honour of the late Soviet goalkeeper Lev Yashin who starred in the 1958-1966 FIFA World Cups. The FIFA Technical Study Group recognises the top goalkeeper of the tournament based on the player's performance throughout the final competition.


2002: Oliver KAHN (GER)

1998: Fabien BARTHEZ (FRA)

1994: Michel PREUD'HOMME (BEL)

Gillette Best Young Player

Gillette Best Young Player: Lukas PODOLSKI, GER #20

This new award goes to the outstanding young player (born on or after 1 January 1985) at the 2006 FIFA World

Cup Germany™. He is selected by the FIFA Technical Study Group.

FIFA Communications Division

Berlin, 09 July 2006