Uruguay, Ecuador, Colombia reach world stage

  • Trio earn final-day qualification for Poland 2019

  • Ecuador win maiden continental title

  • Five-time U-20 world champions Brazil eliminated

A tense finale at the CONMEBOL U-20 Championship concluded with Ecuador crowned champions to earn qualification along with Uruguay and Colombia for the FIFA U-20 World Cup Poland 2019 on Sunday in Chile.

The concluding action resulted in elimination for five-time world champions Brazil and also Venezuela. Argentina became the first team to win their spot on the world stage last Thursday.

With five teams vying for three remaining spots, Uruguay were the first to lock up passage to Poland with a scoreless draw against Colombia.

Ecuador then claimed an impressive 3-0 victory over Venezuela with goals from Leonardo Campana, Daniel Segura and Sergio Quintero shoring up top spot and a first continental win at this level.

Brazil went into the final match needing a three-goal win over old Argentina but could only manage a single-goal victory thanks to Lincoln’s first-half penalty. It was Brazil’s only win of the five-match final stage campaign.

Ecuador, 10 points
Argentina, 9 points
Uruguay, 8 points
Colombia, 5 points (0)
Brazil, 5 points (-2)
Venezuela, 4 points