The crazy voyage of a wild pigeon

6 Aug 2021

“I’m certainly crazy for football and for the Seleção shirt.” That’s how Richarlison justified his insane recent schedule to FIFA.com. The 24-year-old has, over the last 11 weeks, been in 20 cities and played in four competitions on three continents. As ‘Pombo’ gets set to make his 20th appearance in less than three months, we look at this machine’s mind-blowing timeline.

Sunday, 23 May ⚽️ Manchester, England Made his fifth start in 15 days – and 40th and final Everton appearance of 2020/21 – away to Manchester City. Got the coach back to Liverpool.

Monday, 24 May – Tuesday, 25 May ✈️ Manchester-Amsterdam-Rio de Janeiro. Wednesday, 26 May 🏃‍♂️ Teresopolis, Brazil Was one of the first players to arrive at Granja Comary – Brazil’s training centre – for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™ qualifiers against Ecuador and Paraguay.

Wednesday, 2 June ✈️ Rio de Janeiro-Porto Alegre Thursday, 3 June ⚽️ Porto Alegre, Brazil Hit a fine, 65th-minute opener, with his weaker left foot, in a 2-0 win over Ecuador in Qatar 2022 qualifying.

Monday, 7 June ✈️ Porto Alegre-Asuncion Tuesday, 8 June ⚽️ Asuncion, Paraguay Helped Brazil made it maximum points from six games and make their best-ever start to a World Cup qualifying campaign.

Wednesday, 9 June ✈️ Asuncion-Sao Paulo Friday, 11 June 🏃‍♂️ Barra Fundo, Brazil Met Sao Paulo coach Hernan Crespo as Brazil practiced at the club’s training centre. Saturday, 12 June ✈️ Sao Paulo-Brasilia

Sunday, 13 June ⚽️ Brasilia, Brazil Helped Brazil kick-off the Copa America with a 3-0 win over Venezuela. Monday, 14 June ✈️ Brasilia-Rio de Janeiro

Thursday, 17 June ⚽️ Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Put a goal on a plate for Everton Ribeiro and, while on the floor, somehow scored a volley in a 4-0 win over Peru. Wednesday, 23 June ⚽️ Rio de Janeiro, Brazil In action again in a dramatic 2-1 reverse of Colombia.

I’m 24 years old – no! Obviously the campaign was very demanding, but I don’t feel tired. I do what millions of people dream of doing. I feel fortunate, not tired. I’ll rest when I retire.

Richarlison on whether he feels tired

Saturday, 26 June ✈️ Rio de Janeiro-Goiania

Sunday, 27 June ⚽️ Goiania, Brazil With the Seleção already through, Richarlison, Neymar and Casemiro were among those rested for the meeting with Ecuador, though the former came off the bench in a 1-1 draw. Monday, 28 June ✈️ Goiania-Rio de Janeiro

Friday, 2 July ⚽️ Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Ran his socks off in a 1-0 win over Chile in the quarter-finals. Monday, 5 July ⚽️ Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Delivered another admirable performance as Brazil saw off Peru by the same score in the semi-finals. Saturday, 10 July ⚽️ Rio de Janeiro Took to the field to become one of only two players – the other was Danilo – to play every game for Brazil at the Copa America 2021. Played the full 90 minutes and got back to his hotel room in the early hours of the following morning.

I gave up my holidays, the chance to spend time with my family to come to the Olympics. It’s been over two years since I’ve properly seen them. Right after the Copa America I went to see them but I only had less than two days.

Richarlison

Sunday, 11 July ✈️ Rio de Janeiro-Vitoria Sunday, 11 July 👩‍👦 Novo Venecia, Brazil Made a dashing trip to his home city, Novo Venecia in Espirito Santo, to see his family.

Tuesday, 13 July ✈️ Vitoria-Sao Paulo Wednesday, 14 July – Thursday, 15 July ✈️ Sao Paulo-Belgrade Thursday, 15 July 🏃‍♂️ Novi Sad, Servia Arrived along with Douglas Luiz for Brazil’s final training camp before the Men’s Olympic Football Tournament.

Friday, 16 July – Saturday, 17 July ✈️ Belgrade-Tokyo Saturday, 17 July ✈️ Tokyo-Yokohama Thursday, 22 July ⚽️ Yokohama, Japan Produced one of the most memorable displays in Olympic football history, scoring a hat-trick within the first 30 minutes as Brazil beat Germany 4-2 on their debut.

Sunday, 25 July ⚽️ Yokohama, Japan Won multiple free-kicks and produced some fine plays as ten-man Brazil earned a 0-0 draw with Côte d'Ivoire. Wednesday, 28 July ⚽️ Yokohama, Japan With Brazil drawing against Saudi Arabia, scored twice in the last 15 minutes to secure a 3-1 win.

Thursday, 27 July ✈️ Yokohama-Saitama Saturday, 31 July ⚽️ Saitama, Japan Set up the only goal for Matheus Cunha in a 1-0 victory over Egypt in the quarter-finals.

Sunday, 1 August ✈️ Saitama-Kashima Tuesday, 3 August ⚽️ Kashima, Japan Arguably the best player on the pitch as Brazil and Mexico went goalless over 120 minutes. Bravely put himself forward to take his country’s fifth penalty in the shootout, which they ultimately didn’t require.

Wednesday, 4 August ✈️ Kashima-Yokohama Saturday, 7 August ⚽️ Yokohama, Japan The Men’s Olympic Football Tournament final 🥇❓

I never imagined myself getting a tattoo, but if Brazil win Olympic gold I am definitely getting one. I would simply have to commemorate the moment. It would mean so much to go down in history.

Richarlison