Media Release

Federation Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

Impressive line-up at the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup Rio de Janeiro 2005 in May

The maiden edition of the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup Rio de Janeiro 2005 gets into full swing in the land of samba in early May when spectators of this thrilling variation of association football will be in for a real treat judging from the line-up of the teams.

The tournament will be staged at the Copacabana Beach from May 8 to 15 and boasts 12 teams from six continents: one from Oceania (Australia), one from Africa (South Africa), two from Asia (Japan and Thailand), one from North America (United States), three from South America (Argentina, Uruguay and Brazil, as the host country) and four from Europe (France, Portugal, Ukraine and one qualifier).

The final European qualifier berth will be decided at a play-off tournament on May 6 and 7, also at Copacabana, featuring Austria, Italy, Spain and Switzerland. Italy is pitted against Austria, while the Spanish team will lock horns with the Swiss.

The eight seeded countries are: 1- Brazil (reigning world champion and host); 2- France (European champion); 3- Uruguay (top American qualifier); 4- Portugal (European runner-up); 5- United States (second American qualifier); 6- Ukraine (European 3rd place); 7- Argentina (third American qualifier) and 8- European qualifier.

The groups are as follows:

Group A Brazil European qualifier Thailand

Group B Portugal United States Japan

Group C Uruguay Ukraine South Africa

Group D France Argentina Australia

The FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup Rio de Janeiro 2005 group stage schedule is as follows:

May 8 - Sunday Uruguay - South Africa France - Australia Portugal - Japan Brazil - Thailand

May 9 - Monday European qualifier - Thailand United States - Japan Argentina - Australia Ukraine - South Africa

May 10 - Tuesday Portugal - United States Uruguay - Ukraine France - Argentina Brazil - European qualifier

Accreditation requests should be sent to the following contact by April 9:

Cristiane Gracio Tel Fax

Please note that only the media representatives whose applications have been approved will receive an e-mail confirming accreditation of the named journalists.

For more details please visit .