All systems go for Trinidad and Tobago 2010

Having put their players through months of hard work and rigorous preparations, the national coaches of the 16 qualifiers for the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup Trinidad and Tobago 2007 have finally named their squads for the big event.

The list of 336 players taking part in the three-week competition, which gets underway on Sunday 5 September, features a few familiar names, including 11 players who represented their countries at New Zealand 2008, the first time the tournament was held. Among the veterans of two years ago are the Brazilians Beatriz and Thai, Canada’s Diamond Simpson, Nigeria’s Ngozi Okobi and the Japanese duo of Yoko Tanaka and Haruka Hamada, who hit a brace in her side’s 7-2 defeat of Paraguay in the group phase.

Not surprisingly, most of the coaches have gone with the players who helped their teams negotiate the qualifying phase, although, as Canada coach Bryan Rosenfeld explains, there are always contingencies that need to be planned for: “The team that won the CONCACAF tournament has remained virtually intact, although unfortunately Katherine Caverly and Sabrina Hemond will both be missing out through injury. We have every confidence in the players taking their places though.”

To check the squad lists for each side click on the national teams listed in the right-hand column and go to the section entitled Squad List.

Nigeria and defending champions Korea DPR will get the ball rolling in Port of Spain this Sunday, and as usual will be offering all the news and information you need to keep abreast of developments, from exclusive interviews and informed analysis to previews and reports of all 32 games.

There will also be photos and videos highlights from each and every match to enjoy. So make sure you stay logged on at to follow the action and share your views on what promises to be a spectacular three weeks in the Caribbean.