Brazil boss it in Hong Kong

The second FIFA Futsal World Championship, held in one of FIFA's smallest member associations, Hong Kong (15-28 November), proved to be an out-and-out success. As in the first tournament, sixteen nations took part: six from Europe, three from South America, three from Asia, two from CONCACAF, one from Africa and one from Oceania. Four continents each had an ambassador at the semi-final stage, but it was once again the Brazilians who won the trophy. Iran proved the tournament's surprise package, finishing fourth.


Compact, aggressive in the tackle, flamboyant on the ball, with bags of team spirit: this fabulously talented Brazilian side were a class act in Hong Kong in 1992. No other formation could match the Auriverde in terms of individual skill and collective wherewithal. The performances of Taco Araújo's charges in the opening round were nothing short of inspired, as they crushed Australia, Belgium and Costa Rica, hitting 21 goals and only conceding one in the process (a penalty). Their second round effort was barely less spectacular: a drubbing of Argentina (5-1) and the Netherlands (6-1) was followed by a draw with the USA (2-2). A stubborn Spanish side did offer temporary resistance in the semis (the 4-1 scoreline flattered Brazil), but it was business as usual again in the Final as the Americans, sadly missing two of their best players - Woodberry and Revine, were brushed aside 4-1. The stats speak for themselves: 7 wins in 8 games, 44 goals for and 7 against. Captain Vander, Raphael Ortiz and striker Manoel Tobias made the all-star team.

Host Venues
Coliseum, Kowloon Park.

Final standings

  1. Brazil

  2. USA

  3. Spain

  4. Iran


  1. Rajabi Shirazi (IRN), 16 goals

  2. Eremenko (RUS), 15 goals

  3. Alvaro (ESP), 11 goals