The Best FIFA Football Awards™

Monday 24 September 2018, London

The Best FIFA Football Awards: All you need to know

© Getty Images

The Best FIFA Football Awards™ will be held for the third time on 24 September 2018, the latest incarnation of the annual awards events that FIFA has staged since 1991, when the FIFA World Player Gala was founded. has all the details on this new event, which celebrates the very best of the 2017/18 season.

The event:
The Best FIFA Football Awards

The date:
24 September 2018

The awards:
The Best FIFA Men’s Player of 2018
The Best FIFA Women’s Player of 2018
The Best FIFA Men’s Coach of 2018
The Best FIFA Women’s Coach of 2018
The Best FIFA Goalkeeper of 2018
The 2018 FIFA Puskás Award
The 2018 FIFA Fair Play Award
The 2018 FIFA Fan Award
The 2018 FIFA/FIFPro World11

The process:
The 41 contenders for The Best FIFA Men’s and Women’s Players, and The Best FIFA Men’s and Women’s Coaches were revealed on 24 July. The shortlists were trimmed to three finalists in each of these categories at an event in London on 3 September.

On the same day, the ten goals in contention for the 2018 FIFA Puskás Award - as chosen by a panel of experts – were announced, with a vote kicking off on to determine the successor to 2017's winner Olivier Giroud. The nominees for the FIFA Fan Award were also revealed, with voting on beginning at the same time.

The 55 players nominated for the FIFA/FIFPro World11 were revealed a week later, on 10 September.

You can keep up with all the build-up to The Best FIFA Football Awards on all FIFA’s digital platforms:, Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

The lists:
A group of FIFA Legends drew up lists of ten players and 11 coaches for the two men’s awards. Likewise, another expert panel compiled a list of ten players and ten coaches for the two women’s awards.

The award winners for the aforementioned categories will be chosen by an international jury consisting of national team captains, national coaches, members of the media and football fans. Each of these four groups of voters (coaches, captains, media, fans) will account for 25 per cent of the total vote.

In deliberating over the 2018 FIFA Fan Award, a panel of experts picked out the three most spectacular and emotional moments witnessed in football stands around the globe in the 2017/18 season. users are now able to vote online for their favourite fan moment and ultimately decide the winner of the 2018 FIFA Fan Award.

The 2018 FIFA Fair Play Award will be decided by a panel of football experts and will be presented on stage on 24 September at The Best FIFA Football Awards.