The Best FIFA Football Awards™

The Best FIFA Football Awards™

Monday 23 September 2019, Milan

The Best FIFA Football Awards™

Vote for The Best: Five things to know

The Best trophy
  • Voting is now open for The Best men's and women's player and coach awards
  • Fans can make their choice up until Thursday 7 September
  • *Decision equally split between *national team captains and coaches, fans and media

Make your vote count! Voting is now open for the latest edition of The Best FIFA Men's and Women's Player and Coach awards, and fans are once more being given the opportunity to have their say in who takes home the coveted prizes. 

To make it as straightforward as possible for you to use your vote, * *has you covered with five simple key things you need to know about this year's voting process.

You can only vote on *Sign up to be a Club member* and follow the links for these pages to cast your vote:

When voting, you select your first choice (who will get five points), your second (three points) and your third choice (one point). You have until Thursday 7 September to cast your vote, so don't delay!

You are not voting alone
As well as joining thousands of fans across the world in casting your vote, you are standing side by side with national team captains and coaches, as well as selected media from across FIFA's member associations, in deciding who will win The Best FIFA Men's and Women's Player and Coach awards.

Each group of voters counts for an equal 25 per cent of the vote, which is converted into a percentage. This percentage is divided by four, making sure that all voting groups are weighted equally. The four percentages are then added together to form a total percentage that defines the winner, with the entire voting procedure for each award supervised and monitored by the independent observers PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC).

What do national team captains look for when casting their vote? The Best FIFA Women's Player 2016 and USA skipper Carli Lloyd has some advice.

The voting periods are different for men's and women's awards
For the men's awards, the candidates' performances from 20 November 2016 to 2 July 2017​ should be judged. For the women's awards, you should be considering the contenders' performances from ​20 November 2016 to 6 August 2017​.

The nominees were decided by some incredible names
The shortlists for the men's awards were decided a stellar XI of FIFA Legends: (Cafu, Landon Donovan, Enzo Francescoli, Alex Frei, Hidetoshi Nakata, Diego Maradona, Jay Jay Okocha, Carles Puyol, Carlos Valderrama, Edwin van der Sar and Ivan Vicelich). Meanwhile, the shortlists for the women's awards were created by an expert women's football panel (Mia Hamm, Maia Jackman, Nadine Kessler, Jacqueline Shipanga, Sissi and Sun Wen). Both panels consist of representatives from all six of FIFA's confederations. 

Your votes count in other awards too
Winners of the FIFA Puskás Award and FIFA Fan Award will be decided entirely by you, the fans. Be sure to check back in mid-September when voting for those awards opens too! In the meantime, here's the 2016 FIFA Puskás Award winner Mohd Faiz Subri to whet your appetite...

All related documents

Recommended Stories

The Best trophy

The Best FIFA Football Awards™

The Best FIFA Football Awards: shortlisted candidates revealed

17 Aug 2017

The history of FIFA's football awards

The Best FIFA Football Awards™

The history of FIFA's football awards

31 Jul 2017