The Best FIFA Women's Player in stats

  • Hermoso, Kerr and Putellas are competing to win The Best FIFA Women’s Player

  • It was previously called The FIFA Women’s Player of the Year

  • We deliver some stats on the 20-times-awarded honour


Nadine Angerer is the oldest player to collect the award, having been 35 in 2013. Seven of the last ten winners have surprisingly been in their 30s, with Nadine Kessler (26 in 2014), Lieke Martens (24 in 2017) and Lucy Bronze (29 in 2020) the exceptions. Marta is its youngest recipient, having been 20 in 2006.

ZURICH, SWITZERLAND - JANUARY 13:  FIFA Ballon d'Or winner Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal and Real Madrid poses with FIFA Women's World Player of the Year winner Nadine Angerer of Germany and Brisbane Roar during the FIFA Ballon d'Or Gala 2013 at the Kongresshaus on January 13, 2014 in Zurich, Switzerland.  (Photo by Alexander Hassenstein - FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images)


For the first time since its inaugural awarding 20 years ago, each of the top three – Jenni Hermoso, Sam Kerr and Alexia Putellas – have never previously made the podium. Putellas had never even made the initial shortlist for the award, which features ten to 12 players, while Kerr has gone from the shortlist to the podium at the fifth time of asking.


It took 19 years for the top three to all hail from the same continent. Lucy Bronze, Pernille Harder and Wendie Renard ensured an all-European podium in 2020.


Marta was astonishingly only 17 when she finished on the podium for the first time in 2004. Deyna Castellanos was 18 in 2017, while Cristiane and Fatmire Alushi made it at the age of 22 in 2007 and 2010 respectively.

Bildnummer: 01363156  Datum: 20.12.2004  Copyright: imago/Ulmer..Die drei Erstplatzierten bei der Wahl zur Weltfußballerin 2004 Birgit Prinz (Deutschland, Platz1), Marta (Brasilien, Platz 2) und Mia Hamm (USA, Platz 3); Vdig, quer, Spielerin, Fußballerin, Weltfußballer, Outfit, Kleidung, privat Wahl zum Weltfußballer des Jahres 2004, FIFA Centennial World Player Gala, Award, Awards Zürich, Spielerehrung, Fußballerin, Spieler Auszeichnung, Ehrung, Spielerauszeichnung Fußball Damen Mannschaft Gruppenbild optimistisch Randmotiv Personen


The first ten awards went to just three players: Mia Hamm, Birgit Prinz and Marta. The next ten went to eight different players.


A German player finished in the top three for nine consecutive years from 2002 to 2010. Germany and the USA have been represented on the podium a joint-best 14 times.

ZURICH, SWITZERLAND - JANUARY 07:  Ballon d'Or winner Lionel Messi and FIFA Women's World Player of the Year Award winner Abby Wambach of the USA with their awards during  FIFA Ballon d'Or Gala 2012 at the Kongresshaus on January 7, 2013 in Zurich, Switzerland.  (Photo by Alexander Hassenstein - FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images)


Brazil and USA have won a record six trophies apiece. Marta has clinched all of the former’s, while the latter’s were seized by Mia Hamm (twice), Abby Wambach, Carli Lloyd (twice) and Megan Rapinoe.


Four straight years finished with Marta first and Prinz second from 2007 to 2010. A Marta-Prinz-Cristiane one-two-three occurred in 2007 and 2008 – the only time in history that the women’s or men’s award has had the same three podium players in the same three positions in back-to-back years.

Brazil's football player Cristiane (From L) compatriot Marta and Germany's football player Birgit Prinz pose during a press conference prior to the FIFA World Player Gala 2007 award ceremony 17 December 2007 in Zurich.  AFP PHOTO / FABRICE COFFRINI (Photo credit should read FABRICE COFFRINI/AFP via Getty Images)


Just four points separated winner 2019 winner Rapinoe with her USA team-mate, good friend and runner-up Alex Morgan. National team coaches and captains awarded five points for first, three for second and one for third, showing just how close it was.


Only one goalkeeper emerged triumphant from the 50 times FIFA has crowned The Best women’s or men’s player: Angerer in 2013.

MILAN, ITALY - SEPTEMBER 23: The Best FIFA Women's Player Award finalists Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe of United States pose for a portrait in the photo booth prior to The Best FIFA Football Awards 2019 at Excelsior Hotel Gallia on September 23, 2019 in Milan, Italy. (Photo by Michael Regan - FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images)