The Best FIFA Football Awards™

The Best FIFA Football Awards™

Thursday 17 December 2020

FIFA Ballon d'Or

Liberia's George Weah FIFA World Player of the Year 1995

George Weah of Liberia is the FIFA World Player 1995. At a gala event held on the evening of January 8 at the Teatro Nazionale in Milan (Italy), the forward on the books of AC Milan was presented with the prestigious award and thus became its fifth winner after Lothar Mattheus (1991), Marco Van Basten (1992), Roberto Baggio (1993) and Romario (1994).

Second came his team mate, the Italian Paolo Maldini, followed by Germany's JuergenKlinsmann.

The French player, Jacques Glassmann, was awarded the FIFA Fair Play Prize for his courageous attitude in the Valenciennes/Marseille bribery case.

Additional awards were presented to Jamaica as the most improved team of the year in the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking, and Brazil as the top team of the year in this competition.