In 2009, FIFA and FIFPro joined forces to honour the best 11 players of the year with the FIFA FIFPro World11 award, which was presented for the first time at the 2009 FIFA World Player Gala.

The FIFA FIFPro World11 is chosen by thousands of professional football players from all over the world, who vote for the best player in each position in a 4-3-3 formation. From 2005 to 2008, FIFPro organised its own World11 award, with the same selection system. The FIFA FIFPro World11 2017 will be announced at The Best FIFA Football Awards show in London on 23 October.

The FIFA FIFPro World11 2016 was: Manuel Neuer; Dani Alves, Gerard Piqué, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo; Luka Modric, Toni Kroos, Andrés Iniesta; Lionel Messi, Luis Suárez, Cristiano Ronaldo.