Media Release

Fédération Internationale de Football Association

FIFA-Strasse 20 - P.O. Box - 8044 Zurich - Switzerland

Tel: +41-(0)43-222 7777

World Football

Six African associations announce interest in hosting 2010 FIFA World Cup™

Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Nigeria, South Africa and Tunisia are the six national associations to have formally declared an interest in hosting the 2010 FIFA World Cup? - the first time it will be held in Africa.

The deadline for national associations to express their intention to stage the world's premier football competition was 31 December 2002, with both Nigeria and Tunisia leaving it until the last minute (30 December) before announcing their wish to host the event. South Africa, who failed by the slimmest of margins to host the 2006 FIFA World Cup?, were the first to enter on 5 November, followed by Morocco (13 November), Libya (2 December) and Egypt (16 December).

The decision to invite associations only from the continent of Africa to stage the event and, in so doing, begin the process of rotation of football's flagship tournament, was confirmed by the FIFA Executive Committee at its meeting in Zurich on 23 September 2002.

The six associations will receive the updated List of Requirements by 31 January 2003, and have until 30 April 2003 to formally confirm or withdraw their declaration of interest.

Those national associations confirming their bid will then have until 31 August 2003 to present their bid documents to FIFA. In the months that follow, FIFA will inspect each prospective host country and draft a report to be presented to the Executive Committee in April 2004, about a month before the final designation of the host national association for the 2010 FIFA World Cup?, which will again be contested by 32 teams.