Tokyo 2020: What you need to know

Men's Olympic Football Tournament Tokyo 2020: What you need to know

There have been 24 Men's Olympic Football Tournaments held to date, stretching all the way back to 1908, when Great Britain won gold at London 1908.

  • 16 teams, four groups of four
  • League system, each team plays each of other teams in group
  • Top two advance to quarter-finals
  • Traditional knockout system from there

Tournament Format

Age Rule

  • All players participating must be born on or after 1 January 1997
  • However, a maximum of three male players per team who do not meet this age limit may participate in the competition

Kashima: Iberaki Kashima Stadium

Miyagi: Miyagi Stadium

Saitama: Saitama Stadium

Sapporo: Sapporo Dome

Tokyo: Olympic Stadium

Tokyo: Tokyo Stadium

Yokohama: International Stadium Yokohama

Host Cities

Want to know more?

Everything about Tokyo 2020