Melbourne Victory’s New Zealand forward Marco Rojas has been named the A-League’s best player.

The 21-year-old scooped the pool at a glittering ceremony in Sydney on Monday by winning the prestigious Johnny Warren Medal for as well as the Young Footballer of the Year Award.

Rojas, whose first season at the Victory ended on Sunday one match short of the championship decider, is the first player to win both awards in the same season since Mark Viduka in 1994/95.

Rojas was the standout winner after receiving 908 votes from his playing peers, which easily doubled that of his nearest rival, Alessandro Del Piero of Sydney FC (449 votes) with the top five players rounded out by Central Coast Mariners duo Daniel McBreen (280) and Michael McGlinchey (239), with Adelaide United’s Dario Vidosic receiving 222 votes.

The pacy Rojas scored 15 goals for the Victory, having joined from Wellington Phoenix where he failed to find the net last season.

A member of New Zealand’s squad at the FIFA U-20 World Cup Colombia 2011, Rojas has also featured for the All Whites in recent 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™ qualifiers.

Western Sydney Wanderers’ remarkable debut season continued with coach Tony Popovic and goalkeeper Ante Covic named best in their particular fields.

The Wanderers will tackle Central Coast Mariners in Sunday’s Grand Final.

Brisbane Roar’s Clare Polkinghorne received the Julie Dolan Medal as the W-League Player of the Year. Fellow Roar team-mate, Tameka Butt, currently playing for German club FFC Frankfurt, received the W-League’s Player’s Player of the Year Award.