Waitakere United have been crowned champions of New Zealand for third season in a row after a 4-1 victory over Team Wellington in the Grand Final.

The triumph capped an impressive turnaround in form for Neil Emblen’s side, who have now also booked their place in next year’s O-League.

Wellington were denied the chance to break up the dominance of Waitakere and Auckland City, who have won all eight titles between them since the league was formed in 2004.

The capital club had eliminated Auckland with a 4-1 aggregate semi-final win and they dominated much of the first half against Waitakere.

The reigning champions took the lead in first-half stoppage time, however, with Roy Krishna on target, and the goal gave Waitakere momentum heading into the second half.

Further strikes from Allan Pearce and Jake Butler ensured a trio of championships, and their fourth overall, before Henry Fa’arodo claimed a consolation for Wellington.

Krishna doubled his tally with a minute left to play to put the seal on Waitakere’s glory, which they will hope to continue when they participate in the 2012/13 O-League.