FC Ulaanbaatar have been crowned Mongolia champions for the first time after an extra-time victory over city rivals Ulaanbaatar DS in the championship decider on Sunday.

FC Ulaanbaatar won 1-0 thanks to a goal scored just six minutes from the end of extra time, against the University team and 2009 winners.

The new champions, who claimed their first ever title, had only reached the championship play-off, contested between the top four in the eight-team league, by winning their final match of the regular season to qualify on head-to-head results ahead of Erchim.