Taipower claimed their 17th Chinese Taipei championship but this time the reigning champions had to do it the hard way with the title in the balance until the final kick of the season last Thursday.

The two top teams – Taipower and Taipei Tatung - went into the final round drawn together level on points but the former, holding a seven-goal advantage, knew a draw would suffice.

Indeed, as happened when they last met in October, the two could not be separated and the thrilling 2-2 draw meant Taipower were victors once again. Tatung falling agonisingly short of a maiden title once again, having missed out last season following a final day draw.

It has proved quite a year for Taipower who won their first ever international trophy in September – the AFC Presidents Cup - with a dramatic 3-2 victory over Cambodia’s Phnom Penh Crown in Kaohsiung.