Forty-eight runnings of the Copa Libertadores have spurned 21 different champions. It is a measure of how wide open the tournament is, and with the 2008 edition into its group phase, would like to know which team you think will be celebrating on 2 July.

Argentinian sides have claimed a record 21 titles between them, including last year's, which Juan Roman Riquelme, Rodrigo Palacio and Martin Palermo will be hoping to help Boca Juniors defend. They are joined in the mix by compatriots Arsenal, Estudiantes, Lanus, River Plate and San Lorenzo.

Brazil has been represented in 13 of the last 16 finals, and its current competitors will be out to improve this statistic. Will a Sao Paulo squad comprising Rogerio Ceni, Richarlyson, Carlos Alberto and Adriano go all the way, or can Cruzeiro, Flamengo, Fluminense or Santos seize continental rule?

Maybe you feel Nacional can claim a fourth Libertadores crown 20 years after their last conquest, or that fellow Uruguayans Danubio can cause an upset.

The remaining South American contenders are Real Potosi and San Jose (Bolivia), Audax Italiano, Colo-Colo and Universidad Catolica (Chile), Atletico Nacional and Cucuta Deportivo (Colombia), LDU and Cucuta Deportivo (Ecuador), Libertad and Sporitvo Luqueno (Paraguay), Cienciano, Coronel Bolognesi and Universidad San Martin (Peru), and Caracas FC and UA Maracaibo (Venezuela).

A trio of Mexican teams complete the field. Do you feel Atlas or Guadalajara has what it takes to outmuscle their northerly neighbours, or can an America side with Guillermo Ochoa between their sticks and reigning South American Footballer of the Year, Salvador Cabanas, leading their line make history?

So, it's over to you. Only one of the aforementioned 32 can triumph - which one will it be? Join in the debate by clicking 'Add Your Comment' below.