The FIFA President Joseph S. Blatter and the Director for Member Associations and Development, Thierry Regenass met with the Chairman of the Normalisation Committee for the Football Association of Indonesia (PSSI) Mr Agum Gumelar at the Home of FIFA on Tuesday 19 April.

At the meeting, The FIFA President thanked Mr Gumelar for his commitment to the future of Indonesian football, and in particular for his positive work so far undertaken in his role as Normalisation Committee Chairman. FIFA also reiterated the decision of the FIFA Emergency Committee of 1 April and underlined once more that the Normalisation Committee has the function of an electoral commission.

This means that no other electoral commission can be nominated. FIFA also confirmed the non-eligibility to the Executive Committee of PSSI of the four candidates (Mr Nurdin Halid, Mr Nirwan Bakrie, Mr George Toisutta and Mr Arifin Panigoro) who were rejected by the PSSI appeal committee on 28 February 2011.

Failure to abide by this decision could result in PSSI incurring severe sanctions, including the possibility of a suspension. Tuesday’s meeting also approved the Normalisation Committee’s proposal for the composition of the Appeal Committee, based on the result of the 14 April meeting in Indonesia.

The three members of the Appeal Committee will thus be: Ahmad Riyadh Ub (Jawa Timur), Rio Denamore (Persepar Palngkaraya) and Umuh Muhtar (Persib Bandung). Finally, FIFA acknowledged receipt of the draft electoral code received from the PSSI Normalisation Committee. A revised version has now been sent back by FIFA, in order for the final draft to meet FIFA’s approval.