Coupe du Monde de Futsal de la FIFA, Lituanie 2020™

Coupe du Monde de Futsal de la FIFA, Lituanie 2020™

12 septembre - 4 octobre

Klaipeda

klaipeda_CityInfo

Stade: Klaipėda Arena

La ville portuaire de Klaipeda est la troisième plus grande ville de Lituanie. Elle se trouve à l’estuaire du Dané et de la mer Baltique. L’unique port du pays a été fondé par l'Ordre de Livonie en 1252. Cette ville est la plus ancienne de Lituanie et l'une des plus vieilles de la côte orientale de la mer Baltique.

Klaipeda se trouve à environ 120 km au nord-est de Kaliningrad et à environ 290 km au nord-ouest de la capitale, Vilnius. Elle trône à l'embouchure du Dané, dans la lagune de Courlande, en face de l'extrémité nord de l'isthme curonien appelé Kopgalis (littéralement : la pointe sud).

La ville est desservie par un excellent réseau routier, ferroviaire et maritime, qui la relie à la Lettonie, à la région de Kaliningrad, en Russie, à la Scandinavie et à l'Europe centrale. Un port international de ferries relie Klaipeda aux ports de Kiel en Allemagne et de Karlshamn en Suède.

Klaipeda est une ville à la vie culturelle surprenante. Elle accueille régulièrement de grands événements internationaux comme les Baltic Tall Ship Races et l'International Castle Jazz Festival.

En bref :

Population : 162 690 habitants
Superficie : env. 98,35 km²
Heure : GMT + 2 (EET), GMT + 3 (heure d’été)

;

FIFA Futsal World Cup Lithuania 2020™

FIFA Futsal World Cup Lithuania 2020™

12 September - 4 October

Klaipeda

klaipeda_CityInfo

Stadium: Klaipėda Arena

Klaipeda is the third largest city in Lithuania and is located where the Baltic Sea meets the Dane river. Home to the country’s only port, the city was founded by the Livonian Order in 1252. It is Lithuania’s oldest city and one of the oldest on the east coast of the Baltic.

Klaipeda is located around 120 kilometres north-east across the Baltic as the crow flies from Kaliningrad and around 290 kilometres north-west of the capital Vilnius on the mainland, at the mouth of the Dane river and on the Curonian Lagoon at the northern end of the Curonian Spit, known as Kopgalis.

The city boasts excellent road, rail and sea links to Latvia, Russia’s Kaliningrad region, Scandinavia and Central Europe. The international ferry terminal connects Klaipeda with the port of Kiel in Germany and Karlshamn in Sweden.

Klaipeda surprises visitors with its rich cultural life, hosting international events such as the Baltic Tall Ship Races and the International Castle Jazz Festival.

Although the official language is Lithuanian, many of the city’s residents speak foreign languages such as English, German and Russian. Lithuania is one of the five EU countries with the highest proportion of citizens who speak at least one foreign language.

Facts and figures:

  • Population: 162,690
  • Area: approx. 98.35 km²
  • Language: Lithuanian
  • Currency: Euro
  • Local time: GMT + 2 hours (EET), GMT + 3 hours (summer time)
;