FIFA Women's World Cup Sweden 1995™
June 05 - June 18

FIFA Women's World Cup Sweden 1995™

FIFA Women's World Cup Sweden 1995™

Final Tournament Standing


Norway take gold in Sweden

  • Norway victorious at Sweden 1995

  • Hege Riise claims Golden Ball, Ann Kristin Aarones takes Golden Boot

  • Second Women's World Cup presents innovations

If China in 1991 was the innovation, Sweden in 1995 was the consecration of women's football at the highest level.

Players from the best dozen teams in the world came together in the quest for two prizes: the FIFA Women's World Cup™ itself, and also qualification for the first women's Olympic Football Tournament the following year in the United States. The Americans, as Olympic hosts, had already qualified and were eventually joined by new world champions Norway, runners-up Germany and fourth-placed China, together with Sweden, Denmark, Brazil and Japan.


Tournament News