History on the line in Montevideo

  • Spain and Mexico after historic U-17 Women's World Cup title

  • One team will win nation's first-ever Women's World Cup at any age level

  • New Zealand and Canada look to finish on high in match for third place

Whatever happens on Saturday night, history will be made at the Estadio Charrua in Montevideo. Spain or Mexico will be lifting the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup trophy and it will be the first Women's World Cup final triumph at any age level for either nation. Earlier in the day in the match for third place, New Zealand and Canada will be breaking records of their own, with both sides having their best performances in their respective histories in the competition.

The games

Final: Spain - Mexico Match for Third Place: New Zealand - Canada

What you need to know

Redemption for La Roja?: In terms of storylines, there are several to watch. Spain will contest their second U-17 Women's World Cup Final, having been defeated by Japan 2-0 in 2014.

Regional landmark in sight: Mexico have the chance of making more history for the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF). They are already the first Mexican team to reach the final of any FIFA women's finals competition (Women's World Cups and Olympics). With victory on Saturday night, they would be the first team from CONCACAF to lift the U-17 Women's title.

Third final in one year for Spanish duo: This will be a year that Spain goalkeeper Catalina Coll and forward Eva Navarro will always remember. Remarkably, the duo will be playing in their third final of a major competition in 2018. In May they helped Spain lift the UEFA Women's Under-17 Championship title in Lithuania. Three months later, they both played significant roles in leading Spain to the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup France 2018 final, where La Rojita.

Benchmark for Kiwis and Canucks: The two teams contesting the match for third place, which will take place before the final, will be to reach their highest point in the competition's history. Canada and New Zealand have both put in their best performances in Uruguay to date. Canada had reached the quarter-finals on three previous occasions but were never able to break through into the final four, while New Zealand had never made it past the group stages.

Meet the ref: Saturday's final will be officiated by Marie-Soleil Beaudoin, who will become the first Canadian to referee a U-17 Women's World Cup final. She will become the third Canadian to officiate a FIFA competition final after Sonia Denoncourt and Carol Ann Chenard.

FIFA World Cup™ winner with Spain in 2010 Iker Casillas sends a message of support to the Spain team ahead of Saturday's final

The stats

  • Four of the five previous U-17 Women's World Cup finals were decided after the 90th minute. The only one to be decided after the 90 minutes was Japan's 2-0 win over Spain in 2014.

  • Spain and Mexico met each other at the last U-17 Women's World Cup held in Jordan in 2016 in the group stage in Amman. The match finished 1-1 with Eva Navarro, who is starring at Uruguay 2018, scoring Spain's equaliser that day.

  • Mexico have never defeated European opposition in U-17 Women's World Cup history

  • Nicole Perez became Mexico's all-time leading scorer at U-17 Women's World Cups with three goals when she converted her penalty kick against Canada in the semi-finals

Follow Uruguay 2018

Twitter | Facebook | Instagram