Intercontinental Championship for the King Fahd Cup 1995™
January 05 - January 13

Intercontinental Championship Saudi Arabia 1995™

Intercontinental Championship for the King Fahd Cup 1995™

Final Tournament Standing


Denmark come in from the cold


Pre-tournament favourites and European champions Denmark lived up to their top billing by winning the 1995 King Fahd Cup. With players of the calibre of the storied Laudrup brothers (Michael and Brian), ably supported by Bjorn Kristensen, Mark Strudal and Peter Rasmussen, the Danes were a cut above the rest in the searing heat of Riyadh. Hosts Saudi Arabia were the first to be dispatched, 2-0 in a game where they were outclassed in every department by Richard Nielsen's side. Mexico then gave the Scandinavians their closest game of the tournament, holding them to a 1-1 draw, before Lars Hogh's heroics in the penalty shoot-out sent the Danes through to the Final.

Argentina, despite having Roberto Ayala, Javier Zanetti and Ariel Ortega in their side, put up little resistance in the Final. A Michael Laudrup penalty and a Rasmussen strike gave Denmark a comfortable 2-0 win, and the King Fahd Cup was heading for the frozen north.


Apart from the all-conquering Danish outfit, none of the other sides really stood out. Daniel Passarella's Argentina had trouble finding any rhythm, winning one, drawing one and losing their final match to miss out on the title. Japan let in eight goals and were sent packing with two defeats to their name. The hosts flattered to deceive, so only Mexico could look back on the tournament with some satisfaction, after edging Nigeria on penalties to take third place.


Saudi Arabia, Argentina, Denmark, Japan, Mexico and Nigeria.

Host cities

All the games were played in Riyadh.

Top scorers

  1. Luis García (MEX), 3 goals

  2. Daniel Amokachi (NGA), 2 goals

  3. Gabriel Batistuta (ARG), 2 goals

  4. Peter Rasmussen (DEN), 2 goals



Average attendance