The Week in Numbers

  • Rashford and Co emulate Best and friends

  • Who followed Cruyff and Litmanen?

  • De Rossi, Martinez and Perisic feature

watched leaders Portland Thorns edge defending champions North Carolina Courage 2-1 – a record crowd for an NWSL game. Eight France 2019 winners – Crystal Dunn, Abby Dahlkemper, Adrianna Franch, Tobin Heath, Lindsey Horan, Jessica McDonald, Sam Mewis and Emily Sonnett were on show, as was Caitlin Foord and Christine Sinclair. The previous record attendance of 23,403 watched Orlando Pride beat Houston Dash 3-1 in 2016.
years had passed since Manchester United had beaten Chelsea by more than three goals in the league until Marcus Rashford inspired a 4-0 victory on Sunday. George Best and Denis Law were on target as the Red Devils defeated a Blues side including Peter Bonetti, Ron Harris, Terry Venables and George Graham in 1965.
years is what Scherpenheuvel have gone without a league title after they somehow finished Curacao top-flight runners-up for the third time in four seasons. ‘The Pride of Skerpene’ won the first, second and third stages of the competition, accumulating 19 more points than VESTA, who were the shock winners of their maiden top-tier title, in the process.
minutes is all it took Daniele De Rossi to score on his Boca Juniors bow – he took merely four minutes to net on his Italy debut in a 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™ qualifier. Despite the 36-year-old’s goal, Boca missed three consecutive penalties in the shoot-out to crash out to second-tier Almagro.
years had passed since a player moved from Inter Milan to Bayern Munich until Ivan Perisic became the first since Lothar Matthaus.
penalties were taken in the shoot-out between FC Copenhagen and Crvena Zvezda. Jonas Wind scored the Danes’ first spot-kick but missed their last as the Serbians won 7-6 to book a playoff against Young Boys for a place in the UEFA Champions League.
years had passed since an African scored in the UEFA Super Cup – Frederic Kanoute helped Sevilla upset Barcelona 3-0 in 2006 – until Sadio Mane’s double against Chelsea. Liverpool then became the first Premier League club to be involved in two penalty shoot-outs in the same month since Middlesbrough in 2007.
consecutive home games is what Dusan Tadic became only the third player in Eredivisie history to score in. Only Johan Cruyff (13 in 1967) and Jari Litmanen (12 in 1994) managed more.
of the last 12 Mundialito MVPs have been won by Portuguese players after Jordan inspired the former FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup champions to their seventh title – 14-time champions Brazil are the only other nation with more than one. It was the 28-year-old’s third Mundialito MVP, with Madjer (seven) the only other multiple winner of the award.
successive MLS appearances is what Atlanta United’s Josef Martinez became the first player in history to score in. Diego Valeri netted in nine consecutive outings in 2017.