History-makers in Puskás top three

The three nominees for The FIFA Puskás Award have been revealed, with fans choosing three stunning strikes from the initial shortlist of ten to move forward into the final round of voting – which is now open on FIFA.com. Brazil continues its historically strong representation in the final three with Marlone’s acrobatic effort, while Venezuela’s Daniuska Rodriguez repeats Stephanie Roche’s 2014 feat in representing the women’s game on the shortlist. Mohd Faiz Subri is also a history-maker, as Malaysia’s first Puskás nominee makes the final cut with his remarkable swerving free kick effort.

Corinthians midfielder Marlone’s strike, just his second goal for Timão, had fans of the Brazilian giants off their seats in the Copa Libertadores clash against Chilean side Cobresal. The midfielder recovered a cross that was slightly behind him, chested into the air and acrobatically volleyed an effort past a despairing Sebastian Cuerdo in the Cobresal goal.

Rodriguez will hope to go one better than Roche’s runners-up spot in 2014 by taking the Puskás Award back to Venezuela for her superb dribbled effort in the Women’s U-17 Sudamericano Championship. The 17-year-old worked her way past Sofia Montoya and Manuela Venegas with some intricate footwork, before blasting the ball into the roof of the net.

Malaysia’s first ever FIFA Puskás Award nominee Subri is into the final three after fans were astounded by his physics-defying strike. The free kick, struck from distance out on Penang’s left-hand side was hit in a ‘knuckleball’ style, producing astonishing swerve and dip that left Pahang’s goalkeeper Mohd Nasril Nourdin no chance.

Fans from around the world now have a fresh opportunity to vote, with the results of the second round added to the first to determine the overall winner. The winner, decided by that combined total of votes, will be presented with the award at the ceremony in Zurich on Monday 9 January. Make sure to check back on FIFA.com and on social media - @FIFAcom using #TheBest and #Puskas, on Instagram and the official FIFA Football Awards Facebook page – to see who takes home the Puskás Award.

Related Documents