Finalists of the FIFA Diversity Award 2018 revealed

FIFA can today announce the list of finalists for the third edition of the FIFA Diversity Award, with the winner to be revealed at an award ceremony in London on 23 September 2018. With this award, FIFA recognises an outstanding organisation, group initiative or personality that is standing up for diversity and anti-discrimination in football. Through this symbolic recognition and honour, FIFA aims to inspire others to take up the cause and use the power of football to break down barriers.

This year, the award winner will be one of the following three finalists, who all run outstanding projects that are making a significant contribution to diversity and anti-discrimination around the world through football:

Horn of Africa Development Initiative (Kenya) Working with schools, this initiative supports adolescent girls in breaking the silence on issues that affect them through a network of peers who share information on life skills and create a safe space for girls to learn from each other and to play football. The organisation’s flagship programme “Shoot to Score” helps to prevent young children from being sucked into ethnic rivalry and conflict and to provide safe spaces for learning a culture of non-violence through football.

John Moriarty Football (Australia) Named after the first indigenous football player to be selected for the Australian national team, this organisation is creating visibility and a brighter future for indigenous children of the Aboriginal community by using football as a key to strengthen their self-confidence against discrimination, to support discipline and structure as well as to encourage education and to foster life outcomes and career aspirations. Delivering the programme in schools and campaigning during the Indigenous Football Week, JMF has become a central part of daily community life.

Show Racism the Red Card (UK) Since 1996, Show Racism the Red Card has been utilising the high-profile status of football and football players to help tackle racism and other forms of discrimination in society, such as homophobia and sectarianism. The majority of the campaign’s output is the delivery of education to young people and adults of all ages and abilities through educational training, workshops and arts competitions in their schools, their workplaces and at events held in football stadiums.

In addition, the shortlist included the following three nominees:

The winner of the award is chosen by a jury comprising 11 prominent names from football and the promotion of diversity in sport, including a representative of the winners of the 2017 edition, Soccer Without Borders (USA). This is the full jury for the FIFA Diversity Award 2018:

  • Ryan Atkin (English referee)

  • Jefinho (Brazilian international of blind football, 5-a-side)

  • Mary McVeigh Connor (Soccer Without Borders, USA, winners of the FIFA Diversity Award 2017)

  • Maria Sol Muñoz (member of the FIFA Council, Ecuador)

  • Lydia Nsekera (member of the FIFA Council, Burundi)

  • Alexandra Haas Paciuc (President of CONAPRED, Mexico)

  • Khalida Popal (FIFA Legend, former Afghan player, Programme Director for the Afghanistan women’s national team)

  • Jaiyah Saelua (American Samoa international)

  • Clarence Seedorf (FIFA Legend, four-time UEFA Champions League winner, former Dutch international)

  • Tokyo Sexwale (anti-apartheid activist, South Africa)

  • Abby Wambach (FIFA Women’s World Cup™ winner, former USA international)

Related Documents