Media Release

Federation Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

20 women and 30 men nominated

The names of the nominees for the title of FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year and FIFA World Player of the Year 2006 are now known (see below). The winners will be announced at the 16th FIFA World Player Gala at the Zurich Opera House on 18 December.

The lists of candidates for the prestigious awards were drawn up by football experts from different FIFA committees. The Committee for Women’s Football and the FIFA Women’s World Cup, in conjunction with women’s football experts from other FIFA committees, have nominated 20 players from the women’s game. The 30 players from the men’s game were chosen by the Football Committee and the Technical and Development Committee.

As in the previous two years, the head coaches and captains of men’s and women’s national teams will now vote for the best players from the men’s and women’s games from the lists of candidates. At the beginning of December, FIFA will reveal in alphabetical order the names of the three men and women who have received the most votes.

In addition to the traditional FIFA Presidential Award and FIFA Fair Play Award, the 16th FIFA World Player Gala will also include prizes for outstanding performances at the 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™. The tournament’s three best players (Zinedine Zidane, Fabio Cannavaro and Andrea Pirlo) and top scorers (Miroslav Klose, Hernan Crespo and Ronaldo) will be presented with awards in Zurich, as will the two fairest teams (Brazil and Spain) and the outstanding goalkeeper (Gianluigi Buffon).

The following 20 women (in alphabetical order) are in contention for the title of FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year 2006:

Laura Georges (France), Duan Han (China PR), Laura Kalmari (Finland), Kristine Lilly (USA), Renate Lingor (Germany), Ma Xiaoxu (China PR), Marta (Brazil), Malin Mostrom (Sweden), Monica Ocampo (Mexico), Cathrine Paaske Sörensen (Denmark), Kum Suk Ri (Korea DPR), Silke Rottenberg (Germany), Cheryl Salisbury (Australia), Lotta Schelin (Sweden), Christine Sinclair (Canada), Kelly Smith (England), Sandrine Soubeyrand (France), Ingvild Stensland (Norway), Cynthia Uwak (Nigeria), Abby Wambach (USA).

The following 30 men (in alphabetical order) are in contention for the title of FIFA World Player of the Year 2006:

Adriano (Brazil), Michael Ballack (Germany), Gianluigi Buffon (Italy), Fabio Cannavaro (Italy), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Petr Cech (Czech Republic), Deco (Portugal), Didier Drogba (Côte d’Ivoire), Michael Essien (Ghana), Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon), Luis Figo (Portugal), Gennaro Gattuso (Italy), Steven Gerrard (England), Thierry Henry (France), Kaka (Brazil), Miroslav Klose (Germany), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Frank Lampard (England), Jens Lehmann (Germany), Alessandro Nesta (Italy), Andrea Pirlo (Italy), Franck Ribery (France), Juan Roman Riquelme (Argentina), Ronaldinho (Brazil), Wayne Rooney (England), Tomas Rosicky (Czech Republic), Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraine), Lilian Thuram (France), Patrick Vieira (France), Zinedine Zidane (France).

Note to editors:

Media accreditation for the FIFA World Player Gala 2006 can be requested using the form that will be available on from 6 November 2006.