On 26 November 2016, the competing teams at the Tournament of Champions discovered their fate during the Official Draw in Kazan.

All eight countries were divided into two groups: Russia, New Zealand, Portugal and Mexico were drawn into Group A, while Chile, Australia, Germany and the yet-to-be-decided African champions made up Group B (Cameroon were later revealed as the final team at the competition).

Kazan was the first Host City to get a feel of the atmosphere at the upcoming football celebration. The city’s streets were decorated in the tournament’s signature style and the countries’ head coaches and delegations experienced the hospitality of the Tatar capital for the first time.