Follow us on
FIFA Confederations Cup

USA, Mexico name Confederations Cup play-off provisional squads

DeAndre Yedlin of USA looks to control the ball as Mexico's Carlos Esquivel closes in
© Getty Images

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) have released the provisional squads submitted by the two Participating Member Associations, Mexico and USA, ahead of their FIFA Confederations Cup Russia 2017 play-off match, to be held on 10 October at Pasadena's Rose Bowl in California.

Mexico named 32 players to its squad while USA named 35. CONCACAF stated that the squads will serve as the foundation for each nation to select their final 23-player squad lists to participate in the crucial play-off match. The final 23-player squad lists will be finalised on 1 October.

The play-off match puts 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup champions USA against 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup champions Mexico. The winner will represent the confederation at the 2017 Confederations Cup, to be played in Russia from 17 June to 2 July 2017. Matches will be hosted in Kazan, Moscow, Sochi and St. Petersburg.

In 2013, CONCACAF announced the split of the region's berth to the FIFA Confederations Cup between two editions of the CONCACAF Gold Cup, assuring that both editions of the Gold Cup in each four-year cycle have the same importance from a competitive perspective.

Mexico squad
Goalkeepers*: Guillermo Ochoa (Malaga/Spain), Moises Munoz (Club America), Alfredo Talavera (Toluca), Jonathan Orozco (Monterrey)

Defenders: Paul Aguilar (Club America), Diego Reyes (Real Sociedad/Spain), Rafael Marquez (Verona/Italy), Hector Moreno (PSV Eindhoven/Netherlands), Miguel Layun (Porto/Portugal), Hector Herrera (Porto/Portugal), Oswaldo Alanis (Guadalajara), Arturo Rivas (Tigres), Miguel Herrera (Pachuca), Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres)

Midfielders:* *Israel Jimenez (Tigres), Andres Guardado (PSV Eindhoven/Netherlands), Jose Juan Vazquez (Leon), Jesus Duenas (Tigres), Javier Aquino (Tigres), Jonathan Dos Santos (Villarreal/Spain), Luis Montes (Leon), Carlos Pena (Leon), Javier Guemez (Club America) 

Forwards:* *Oribe Peralta (Club America), Raul Jimenez (Benfica/Portugal), Carlos Vela (Real Sociedad/Spain), Carlos Esquivel (Toluca), Jesus Corona (Porto/Portugal), Javier Hernandez (Bayer Leverkusen/Germany), Elias Hernandez (Leon), Jurgen Damm (Tigres), Giovani Dos Santos (LA Galaxy/USA)   

USA squad
Goalkeepers*: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa/England), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Tim Howard (Everton/England), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Defenders: Ventura Alvarado (Club America/Mexico), DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin/Germany), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City/England), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Greg Garza (Atlas/Mexico), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana/Mexico), Tim Ream (Fulham/England), Jonathan Spector (Birmingham City/England), DeAndre Yedlin (Sunderland/England)

Midfielders:* *Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes/France), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC/Canada), Joe Corona (Veracruz/Mexico), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Monchengladbach/Germany), Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution), Alfredo Morales (Ingolstadt/Germany), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Danny Williams (Reading/England), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards:* *Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC/Canada), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Alan Gordon (LA Galaxy), Aron Johansson (Werder Bremen/Germany), Jordan Morris (Stanford University), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Bobby Wood (Union Berlin/Germany)

Recommended Stories