Following yesterday's decision by the FIFA Executive Committee to hold the next FIFA/Con-federations Cup in Mexico from 8 to 20 January 1999, UEFA today announced that France, the best-placed European team in the 1998 World Cup would represent Europe in this event.

Thus, the list of participating teams is as follows:

Mexico CONCACAF, hosts of the event (and winners of the 1998 Gold Cup)
USA CONCACAF, runners-up in the 1998 Gold Cup

Brazil Title-holders (and winners of the 1997 Copa America)
Bolivia CONMEBOL, runners-up of the 1997 Copa America

France highest-ranking European team in the 1998 World Cup
(as designated by UEFA)

Saudi Arabia AFC, winners of the 1996 Asian Cup

Egypt CAF, winners of the 1998 African Cup of Nations

One team from Oceania to qualify at the Oceania Nations Cup
in Brisbane in September 1998

The eight teams will play in two groups (league format) followed by semi-finals and finals. The 1998 event will most likely be held in Mexico City and one other venue.

The inaugural FIFA/Confederations Cup was held in Riyadh (Saudi Arabia) in December 1997 with World Champions Brazil winning the Cup. The Kingdom had already hosted the «Intercontinental Championships» in 1992 (four teams, winners Argentina) and in 1995 (six teams, winners Denmark).