Further to the FIFA Media Release of 4 March 1998, it is specified as follows :

Although Germany is the current European champion, it will not automatically be the team to represent Europe in the eight-team tournament planned for January 1999. The European representative will be designated by the European confederation, UEFA, according to its own criteria, one possibility being the highest-placed European team in the 1998 FIFA World Cup.

The other seven teams in the tournament will be as originally announced, namely Brazil (defending champion of the FIFA/Confederations’ Cup), Bolivia (South American runners-up), Saudi Arabia (Asian champion), Egypt (African champion), Mexico (CONCACAF champion), the winner of the 1998 Oceania Nations Cup and the team of the host nation.