Deco has been named the player of the tournament at the FIFA Club World Cup Japan 2006. The FC Barcelona midfielder's superb performances, capped by a magnificent goal in the semi-finals against Club America, provided FIFA's Technical Study Group with more than enough reasons to hand him the award. The winners of the various awards are as follows:

Ballon d'Or and TOYOTA award: Deco (FC Barcelona)
The Portuguese midfielder stamped his authority on the FIFA Club World Cup Japan 2006 from the very off. The number 20's dynamic skills, superb vision and immaculate touch simply bewildered Club America of Mexico in Barcelona's emphatic 4-0 semi-final win. Not content with running the game, Deco also added a magnificently taken goal. The former FC Porto man was equally influential in Sunday's final against Internacional of Porto Alegre although his valiant efforts failed to secure victory for his side. The Spanish and European champions may be leaving Japan empty handed but the inspirational playmaker can at least console himself with the Ballon d'Or.

Ballon d'Argent: Iarley (Internacional)
Running Deco close for top spot was Internacional striker Iarley. Although the Brazilian failed to pick up the Ballon d'Or, his side's hard-fought tournament triumph should provide more than sufficient consolation. The 32-year-old was among the Porto Alegre outfit's star performers in Yokohama and confirmed his reputation as a matchwinner by setting up strike partner Adriano for Internacional's late goal. The veteran striker now has two intercontinental winners medals to his name having also helped Boca Juniors to success in 2003.

Ballon de Bronze: Ronaldinho (FC Barcelona)
The Brazilian magician unveiled his incredible array of skills yet again in the semi-finals. Leading the Barcelona attack with typical panache, the former Paris St Germain player had the fans on their feet throughout a dazzling encounter. A constant thorn in the side of Club America, Ronaldinho killed off any lingering Mexican hopes by scoring his team's third in a 4-0 win. Less effective than usual in the final, he had to settle for second best as Internacional ran out narrow winners.

Fair play award: FC Barcelona