FIFA Club World Cup UAE 2017

FIFA Club World Cup UAE 2017

6 December - 16 December 2017

FIFA Club World Cup 2017

UAE 2017 squad lists revealed

Marcelo of Real Madrid lifts the trophy as him and his team mates celebrate victory following the FIFA Club World Cup Final match
© Getty Images
  • All seven clubs set to compete at the FIFA Club World Cup have revealed their squad lists
  • * * *South American representatives Gremio complete UAE 2017 line-up *
  • * * Reigning champions Real Madrid will travel with their big-name stars

The 14th edition of the FIFA Club World Cup is just around the corner, and the official squad lists of the seven participating teams in the United Arab Emirates from 6-16 December have been confirmed. Click here to download them in full.

Brazilian side Gremio became the final team to book their Club World Cup berth after winning the Copa Libertadores on the 29 November. The Brazilians will try to emulate their compatriots Internacional and Corinthians – Club World Cup champions in 2006 and 2012, respectively – and will head to UAE with all the stars that lead them to continental glory. Fans will enjoy the quality of youngsters Luan and Arthur, two of the most talented players in Brazil, as well as Lucas Barrios’ expertise.

Despite losing star player Hirving Lozano to PSV Eindhoven, Mexican club Pachuca will arrive with a strong team including striker Franco Jara, who scored six goals in the CONCACAF Champions League, Japan international Keisuke Honda and talented youths from the club’s academy, such as Erick Gutierrez.

While it will be Los Tuzos'  *fourth outing at the Club World Cup, it will be the ninth appearance for New Zealand's Auckland City. Coach Ramon Tribulietx will head to the United Arab Emirates with a squad full of familiar faces, such as Spain’s Angel Berlanga and Argentina’s Emiliano Tade.* **

For their part, current Club World Cup holders and European champions Real Madrid will arrive at the tournament with all their big-name stars. Cristiano Ronaldo, who won The Best FIFA Men's Player Award 2017, will travel to Abu Dhabi alongside Gareth Bale, Karim Benzema, Isco, Sergio Ramos and Keylor Navas. Los Blancos have their sights set on writing their names in the history books once more by becoming the first side ever to defend the Club World Cup title.

Al Jazira, representing the host nation, are champions of the Arabian Gulf League and will be eager to give a good account of themselves. In order to do so they are relying on the experience of players such as Morocco international Mbark Boussoufa and forward Ali Mabkhout.* *

African champions Wydad Casablanca will be bolstered by the presence of their chief attacking weapons, such as striker Achraf Bencharki and fleet-footed winger Ismail El Haddad, who helped them lift the continental crown for the first time in 25 years.

Japan's Urawa Red Diamonds will be keen to demonstrate the defensive prowess that led them to conquer Asia. Illustrious veterans such as captain Yuki Abe and the team's leading marksman and hero of the continental final Rafael Silva, will be out to show what they can do.

This is a tournament not to be missed. Remember, you can still buy your tickets and experience the last major competition of the year first hand.

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories