FIFA Club World Cup Morocco 2014

FIFA Club World Cup Morocco 2014

10 December - 20 December

FIFA Club World Cup 2014

Osaka to debut as a FIFA Club World Cup venue

Stadium Osaka
© Getty Images

For the first time the Osaka Nagai Stadium will host the pinnacle event in club football, the FIFA Club World Cup, after being announced as one of two venues for Japan 2015.

The stadium, which is home to J.2 League side Cerezo Osaka, played host to three memorable matches at the 2002 FIFA World Cup Korea/Japan™ and will now witness another wonderful event.

The 2015 edition of the Club World Cup will take place from 10 to 20 December with matches being hosted by the Osaka Nagai Stadium and the International Stadium Yokohama, which has hosted several FIFA Club World Cups (2005 to 2008, 2011 and 2012).

The Osaka Nagai Stadium will host two quarter-final matches on 13 December, the match for fifth place on 16 December and a semi-final match on the same day.

By hosting the FIFA Club World Cup Japan 2015, the 47,816-capacity ground will be adding to a list of football moments that will live long in the country’s memory.

In 2002, the stadium hosted two group stage matches at the World Cup, including host Japan’s 2-0 victory over Tunisia, which saw the country progress to the knockout rounds of the tournament for the first time in history.      

Auckland City (OFC) and Club America (CONCACAF) were the first two teams to have secured their berths to the FIFA Club World Cup Japan 2015. The complete field of seven teams will all be confirmed by early December. 

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories