FIFA Club World Cup UAE 2010

8 December - 18 December

Media Release

Fédération Internationale de Football Association

FIFA-Strasse 20 - P.O. Box - 8044 Zurich - Switzerland

Tel: +41-(0)43-222 7777

FIFA Club World Cup 2010

Nerazzurri awarded the mark of champions

© Getty Images

F.C. Internazionale Milano’s triumph in the FIFA Club World Cup 2010 was recognised in Milan tonight when the club’s President Massimo Moratti and captain Javier Zanetti were presented with the FIFA Club World Cup Champions Badge, a visual reminder of the team’s success in 2010.

The badge, featuring an image of the FIFA Club World Cup trophy and the text “FIFA World Champions 2010”, was handed over by FIFA Director Walter Gagg ahead of the first match of 2011 at the Stadio Guiseppe Meazza. Starting with tonight’s match against SSC Napoli, F.C. Internazionale will now wear the FIFA Champions Badge on their jerseys in every match they play up until the final whistle of the FIFA Club World Cup 2011 in Japan.
FIFA President Joseph S. Blatter congratulated the FIFA Club World Cup Champions on their performance in Abu Dhabi, saying “This was a fantastic year for F.C. Internazionale. To be crowned champions of not only Italy, but Europe and then finally the world is a remarkable achievement. We are delighted to provide a physical reminder of this success which they can wear with pride throughout 2011.”

This was a fantastic year for F.C. Internazionale.

"We are happy and proud to have the opportunity to wear the symbol created by FIFA, who we thank for this historic opportunity,” said F.C. Internazionale President Massimo Moratti. “The victory at the FIFA Club World Cup concludes in the best possible way a wonderful season for our team and our fans. For the first time in the history of Italian football, we have won and celebrated winning five trophies in just a few months.”

Past FIFA Club World Cup Champions have also had the privilege of having their jerseys adorned with this unique seal of quality. First introduced for the FIFA Club World Cup in 2007, the badge has now featured on the playing kits of AC Milan, Manchester United and FC Barcelona.

The FIFA Club World Cup Champions badge is just one in a series of FIFA World Champions Badges which are awarded to the winners of selected FIFA events. The first team to be presented with the FIFA World Cup™ Champions badge was the Italian men’s national team, champions of the 2006 FIFA World Cup™, with the Spanish national team recently taking over this honour after their success in South Africa. Germany’s women’s national team also wears a Champions badge in recognition of its success in the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2007™.

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories