FIFA Club World Cup Japan 2015

10 December - 20 December

FIFA Club World Cup 2015

Barcelona honoured with FIFA World Champions Badge for third time

© Getty Images

Following their success against River Plate in the FIFA Club World Cup 2015 Final, FC Barcelona will have the honour of wearing the FIFA World Champions Badge on their competition jerseys throughout 2016. They were presented with their badges during the official awards ceremony after the match on Sunday evening in Japan.

This will be the third time the Catalan club will display the badge, which recognises them as the World Champion in their competition. FC Barcelona will take over the honour from La Liga rivals Real Madrid, who were presented with the FIFA World Champions Badge after their victory in Morocco in 2014.

The FIFA World Champions Badge
A series of FIFA World Champions Badges are awarded to the winners of each major FIFA event, with the FIFA World Champions Badge portraying both the respective tournament trophy and the year of the edition.

The first side to be presented with the FIFA World Champions Badge was the Italian men’s national team, after their victory at the 2006 FIFA World Cup™, followed by Spain in South Africa in 2010 and, most recently, Germany, who earned the right to wear the badge of honour as the winners of the 2014 FIFA World Cup™.

The badge is also worn by the USA women’s national team following their triumph this year at the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2015™, while FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup 2015 winners, Portugal, also sport the FIFA World Champions Badge. In the most recent edition of the FIFA Futsal World Cup in 2012, the Brazilian national team clinched the title, along with the first FIFA World Champions Badge to be handed over for that particular competition.

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories

FIFA Club World Cup 2015

River Plate 0-3 Barcelona (Japan 2015)

20 Dec 2015