FIFA Club World Championship Toyota Cup Japan 2005

FIFA Club World Championship Toyota Cup Japan 2005

11 December - 18 December 2005

FIFA Club World Cup 2005

We are the champions

Boca Juniors 2003

Remember the Di Stefano-Puskas double act that swept aside Penarol in front of 120,000 screaming fans at the Santiago Bernabeu in 1960 or Pele's devastating hat-trick two years later in Lisbon as Santos defeated Eusebio's Benfica? What about how Zico's precision passing tore to ribbons Liverpool's lauded defence in freezing Tokyo in 1981 or how, in 2000, Riquelme heated up Real Madrid's players by taking it upon himself to shield the ball and Boca's lead?

The Intercontinental and Toyota Cups have provided some classic moments in the history of the game. has dug deep into the archives to retell the tale of those action-packed nights when the pride of Europe and South America was at stake. Bringing match summaries and line-ups, profiling the stars of the show and their coaches, detailing each team's history and unveiling lost pictures, we feature the 26 clubs that have been named world champions.

From Ajax to Velez Sarsfield and Uruguay to Serbia, the crown has flown to many corners and has been shared almost equally among the game's two titanic continents over the tournament's 44 years. Of the 11 different nations to have won it, Argentinian clubs have claimed the most titles, nine, with Boca Juniors, AC Milan, Real Madrid, Penarol and Nacional all securing three triumphs. 

But its competitiveness has never been in doubt. With the score South America 14-12 Europe, there has always been much to play for despite a change of name, format and venue in 1980. From a two-leg, home-and-away final, the Intercontinental Cup moved to Japan 25 years ago and became the Toyota Cup, featuring an annual one-match confrontation between the champions of UEFA and Conmebol.  

After Corinthians won the FIFA Club World Championship Brazil 2000, the champions from FIFA's six confederations will play the FIFA Club World Championship TOYOTA Cup Japan 2005 from 11-18 December. They are Deportivo Saprissa (Costa Rica, CONCACAF), Liverpool (England, UEFA), Sydney FC (Australia, OFC), Sao Paulo (Brazil, Conmebol), Al Ittihad (Saudi Arabia, AFC) and Al Ahly (Egypt, CAF).

Europe will be hoping to level up the scores against South America but in a tournament that has thrown up as many surprises as great performances in the past, there might well be a new continent to profile and a collection of different shaped stars moving into the spotlight.

Past winners
AC Milan  (Intercontinental Cup 1969, Toyota Cup 1989, 1990)
Ajax Amsterdam   (Intercontinental Cup 1972, Toyota Cup 1995)
Atletico Madrid  (Intercontinental Cup 1974)
Bayern Munich  (Intercontinental Cup 1976, 2001)
Boca Juniors  (Intercontinental Cup 1977, Toyota Cup 2000, 2003)
Borussia Dortmund  (Toyota Cup 1997)
Corinthians  (FIFA Club World Championship 2000)
Estudiantes  (Intercontinental Cup 1968)
Feyenoord  (Intercontinental Cup 1970)
Flamengo  (Toyota Cup 1981)
Gremio (Toyota Cup 1983)
Independiente  (Intercontinental Cup 1973, Toyota Cup 1984)
Internazionale  (Intercontinental Cup 1964, 1965)
Juventus  (Toyota Cup 1985, 1996)
Manchester United  (Toyota Cup 1999)
Nacional  (Intercontinental Cup 1971, Toyota Cup 1980, 1988)
Olimpia  (Intercontinental Cup 1979)
Penarol  (Intercontinental Cup 1961, 1966, Toyota Cup 1982)
Porto  (Toyota Cup 1987, 2004)
Racing Club  (Intercontinental Cup 1967)
Real Madrid  (Intercontinental Cup 1960, Toyota Cup 1998, 2002)
Red Star Belgrade  (Toyota Cup 1994)
River Plate  (Toyota Cup 1986)
Santos  (Intercontinental Cup 1962, 1963)
Sao Paulo  (Toyota Cup 1992, 1993)
Velez Sarsfield  (Toyota Cup 1994)