كأس العالم للأندية FIFA قطر 2019™

كأس العالم للأندية FIFA قطر 2019™

11 ديسمبر - 21 ديسمبر

قطر

General view over Doha in Qatar
© imago

لا شك أن كرة القدم القطرية تعيش أكثر مراحلها إثارة على الإطلاق. قبل ثلاث سنوات فقط على انطلاق كأس العالم 2022 FIFA، تُوّج المنتخب القطري في شهر يناير/كانون الثاني بطلاً لآسيا للمرة الأولى، والآن تستعد البلاد لاستضافة كأس العالم للأندية FIFA.

تُطل شبه جزيرة قطر على الخليج العربي ولديها حدود برية مشتركة مع المملكة العربية السعودية وبحرية مع كل من البحرين والإمارات العربية المتحدة من الشمال الغربي والجنوب الشرقي توالياً.

تمتد قطر على مساحة صغيرة تبلغ 11.000 كيلومتراً مربعاً، وتحتل المركز 163 في العالم من حيث المساحة وفقاً لبيانات الأمم المتحدة، ومن الممكن عبورها من الشمال إلى الجنوب في غضون ما يزيد قليلاً عن ساعتين.

يُقيم الغالبية العظمى من سكانها، البالغ عددهم 2.5 مليون نسمة، في العاصمة الدوحة التي تقع في منتصف الساحل الشرقي لشبة جزيرة قطر. وتُعدّ العربية لغتها الرسمية، على الرغم من أن العدد الكبير من المهاجرين، الذين يمثلون أكثر من 80٪ من نسبة السكان- وقطاع السياحة يفرضان استخدام اللغة الإنجليزية بشكل شائع أيضاً في البلاد.

المناخ والسياحة

تسطع الشمس على العاصمة ثماني ساعات يومياً وتشهد درجات حرارة معتدلة في أشهر الشتاء، مما يجعلها وجهة جذابة للزوار الذين يأتون إما هروباً من الشهور الأكثر برودة في نصف الأرض الشمالي أو للاستمتاع بالعروض السياحية التي تقدمها قطر بعيداً عن حرارة الصيف.

تصل درجات الحرارة في ديسمبر/كانون الأول إلى حوالي 20 درجة، على الرغم من أنها في بعض الأحيان قد تصل إلى 30 درجة مئوية. أما هطول الأمطار فهو نادر جداً خلال العام، على الرغم من أنه من المتوقع أن يكون هناك يوم واحد رطب كمتوسط ​​في الشهر.

تعجّ الدوحة بالعروض الثقافية التي يمكن من خلالها استحضار ماضي البلاد وحاضرها. ويقدم سوق واقف التقليدي والحيوي مجموعة من المشاهد والأصوات والنكهات. كما يمكن التعرف على ثقافة قطر في متحف الفن الإسلامي أو في متحف قطر الوطني، والاستمتاع بهندستها المعمارية في مكتبة قطر الوطنية ومسجد كتارا.

وهناك أيضاً أماكن كثيرة تستحق الزيارة خارج المدينة، وسط الكثبان الرملية المتموجة، في رحلات الجمال أو الزيارات إلى المحمية الطبيعية المعترف بها من قبل اليونسكو في البحر الداخلي في خور العديد، حيث يوجد حيوانات متنوعة مثل السلاحف البحرية والعقاب النساري.

كرة القدم في قطر

يعيش المنتخب القطري أفضل أيامه بعد تتويجه لأول مرة بكأس آسيا في يناير/كانون الثاني الماضي. وفازت كتيبة فيليكس سانشيز باللقب الأهم في القارة الصفراء برصيد 18 هدفاً مسجلاً وهدفاً واحداً مستقبلاً، تلقته في المباراة النهائية ضد اليابان (3-1).

وكان النجم الأول هو المعز علي، البالغ من العمر 23 عاماً، الفائز بالحذاء الذهبي برصيد تسعة أهداف والذي اختير أيضاً أفضل لاعب في البطولة. يلعب المعز في نادي الدحيل، بطل دوري نجوم قطر ست مرات، والذي انتزع منه اللقب الأخير -لقب موسم 2017/2018- نظيره السد الأكثر تتويجاً بلقب الدوري.

يشرف على تدريب السد حالياً تشافي، لاعب خط الوسط وبطل العالم مع منتخب أسبانيا، والذي اعتزل اللعب في النادي القطري بعدما كان قائداً للفريق الذي تُوّج بلقبه الأول في ست سنوات. كما أن السد هو الفريق القطري الوحيد الفائز بدوري أبطال آسيا مرتين، آخرهما في عام 2011، ما قاده لتسجيل مشاركته الأولى والأخيرة في كأس العالم للأندية، حيث احتل المركز الثالث.

وبعيداً عن العاصمة، وفرقها الستة في الدرجة الأولى، فإن المركز الكبير الآخر لكرة القدم القطرية هو الريان، المدينة التي شهدت التتويج بمجموع 15 لقباً في الدوري المحلي، ثمانية للريان وسبعة للغرافة.

FIFA Club World Cup Qatar 2019™

FIFA Club World Cup Qatar 2019™

11 December - 21 December

Qatar

General view over Doha in Qatar
© imago

There’s almost certainly never been a more exciting time for football in Qatar. The FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™ is just three years away, they were crowned the champions of Asia for the first time in January and now the FIFA Club World Cup is heading to its shores.

The Qatar peninsula shares its only land border with Saudi Arabia, though the island of Bahrain and the United Arab Emirates can be found nearby to the north-west and south-east respectively.

Stretching out over a compact 11,000 km-squared, Qatar is ranked 163rd according to UN data in terms of country size, with one being able to traverse it from top to bottom in a little over two hours.

The vast majority of the nation’s 2.5 million inhabitants can be found in the capital, Doha, midway up the eastern coast. Arabic is the official language, though with the large ex-pat community – accounting for over 80 per cent of inhabitants – and the tourism trade means English is also commonly spoken.

Climate and tourism

With eight hours of sun per day in the winter months, alongside the springtime temperatures, the capital is a popular location for holidaymakers. Be they escaping the northern hemisphere’s colder months or wanting to sample Qatar’s touristic offerings away from the heat of its summer.

Temperatures in December tend to range around 20 degrees Celsius, sometimes pushing up into the higher 20s, with very little rain throughout the year full stop – though on average one damp day during the month is expected.

Doha is packed with cultural options to give you a taste of the Qatar of past and present. Souq Waqif offers a bustling traditional market full of sights, sounds and tastes; get a dose of culture from the Museum of Islamic Art or National Museum of Qatar; or take in the staggering architecture of the Qatar National Library and Katara Mosque.

Beyond the city there is plenty to be found among the rolling dunes, be you trekking by camel, or visiting the UNESCO recognised nature reserve at the Khor Al Adaid inland sea, where wildlife like turtles and ospreys can be found.

Football in Qatar

The national team are currently riding high after they triumphed at the AFC Asian Cup for the first time in January, with Felix Sanchez’s men scoring 18 and conceding just once – coming in the 3-1 final win over Japan.

The star of the competition came in the shape of Almoez Ali, with the 23-year-old hitting nine goals to claim not only the golden boot but also clinch player of the tournament. On the books at six-time Qatar Stars League champions Al-Duhail, they relinquished their latest title – won in 2017/18 – to record champions Al Sadd.

Now coached by Spanish World Cup-winning legend Xavi, the midfield maestro saw out his illustrious career at the club, captaining them to their first title in six years. They are also the only Qatari side to have lifted the AFC Champions League – twice, the latest of which coming in 2011 – bringing with it their one trip to the Club World Cup, finishing third.

Outside of the capital, where six of the league’s competing teams can be found, Al Rayyan is the next biggest hotbed of football, with both Al Rayyan and local rivals Al-Gharafa having scooped a combined 15 national titles – eight and seven respectively.