The names of the 192 players from the 16 participating sides competing at the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup Ravenna/Italy 2011 have now been announced.

The competing sides, who will do battle for the world crown between 1 and 11 September, each revealed the names of their 12 squad members this Thursday, confirming that the biggest stars in the sport will be gracing this the sixth edition of the tournament.

Brazil, winners of the last four editions, have stuck with the same nucleus of players who, under coach Alexandre Soares, have enjoyed such recent successes as victory at the CONMEBOL qualifying tournament earlier this month. Goalkeeper Mao and veterans Buru and Benjamin head up a squad with top-class players in every department.

Runners-up at the last edition, Switzerland have also kept faith with the core of their team, including star striker Dejan Stankovic, winner of the adidas Golden Ball and Golden Boot at Dubai 2009. Portugal, meanwhile, will have their stellar triumvirate of Alan, Belchior and leading marksman Madjer on display, while Italy will be banking on the goals of Paolo Palmacci in their bid to make an impact on home soil.

There are a host of other players to watch for, including Morgan Plata, winner of the adidas Bronze Ball at the 2007 edition now back to strengthen Mexico’s side after a spell in traditional football. Then there is Azeez Abu, who aged just 15 became the youngest player to compete and score at a FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup when he starred for Nigeria at Dubai 2009.

The lists are replete with big names as well as numerous up-and-coming players who will be hoping to make a name for themselves in the coming days.

To view the PDF containing the squad lists of all 16 teams, just click on the link on the right.