Featuring Brazil, Spain, Thailand, Portugal, the United States, Japan, Uruguay, Ukraine, South Africa, France, Argentina and Australia, the inaugural FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup in Rio de Janeiro earlier this year proved a tremendous success. The trophy was won by France, who defeated Portugal in the final.

Next year, teams from 16 countries will compete for global superiority, with the breakdown between the different confederations as follows:

- AFC: 3 teams
- CAF: 2 teams
- CONCACAF: 2 teams
- CONMEBOL: 2 teams
- OFC: 1 team
- UEFA: 5 teams
- Host country

With the announcement of the venue and dates of the second FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup expected soon, keep up with all the latest beach soccer news on FIFA.com.