FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup Portugal 2015

FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup Portugal 2015

9 July - 19 July

FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup 2015

Russia, Spain and Italy reach Portugal 2015

Action image of the match Spain and Ukraine  (6-6, PEN 4-3) at the UEFA Beach Soccer World Cup Qualifier in Jesolo, Italy, September 12, 2014 (Photo:
© Others

Russia, Spain and Italy advanced to the semi-finals of Europe's qualifying competition for the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup on Friday and as a result all three teams have reached Portugal 2015, joining Switzerland, who qualified yesterday, at the sport's largest event.

The Russians, current two-time world champions, ​​convincingly beat a spirited Romania side 5-2 in a match that ended play in Group 3.  The Spaniards, however, were three goals down against Ukraine, but La Roja made it 6-6 two minutes from time and confirmed their place in the top four of the tie by winning on penalties 4-3. Hat-trick hero Llorenc and goalkeeper Dona starred for the second-place finishers at Tahiti 2013 as Spain finished atop Group 2. 

Hosts Italy were made to work extra hard to earn a tight 4-2 victory over Belarus. In a tense match, Italy took the lead in the final period behind a strong performance from Gori, who had two goals on the night. The three qualified teams from today action, along with Switzerland in the semi-finals. Spain face Switzerland, while Italy take on Russia.

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories

OFC Beach Soccer Seminar

FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup 2013

Building for further Oceania sand-based success

30 Sep 2013

Spain's Llorenc is seen in action during the final of the Euro Beach Soccer League Superfinal Torredembarra 2014 at Playa de La Paella on August 17, 2014 in Torredembarra, Spain

FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup 2015

Llorenc Gomez shines on hometown sands

27 Aug 2014