FIFA presidential elections
© Foto-net

Congresses that left their mark on FIFA and football

1st FIFA Congress in Paris in 1904
The representatives of the seven founding members, Belgium, Denmark, France, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland, vote unanimously for Frenchman Robert Guérin as the federation's first President.
3rd FIFA Congress in Berne in 1906
Englishman Daniel Burley Woolfall is unanimously elected as Robert Guérin's successor. In 1918, he dies during his period of office, whereupon Carl Anton Hirschmann (Netherlands) represents him for another two years.
12th FIFA Congress in Geneva in 1923
This is the first FIFA Congress to be held since the First World War. Jules Rimet - in office since 1920 - is officially installed as FIFA President.
29th FIFA Congress in Berne in 1954
Shortly before the FIFA World Cup™ in Switzerland, Belgian Rodolphe Seeldrayers is voted in as Jules Rimet's successor by acclamation. Rimet is designated Honorary President for his services to FIFA and football.
30th FIFA Congress in Lisbon in 1956
Arthur Drewry (England) follows in the footsteps of Seeldrayers, who has died in office in October 1955. Ernst B. Thommen from Switzerland has been acting as President until the elections are held at the Congress.
Extraordinary FIFA Congress in London in 1961
Sir Stanley Rous is elected as the sixth President of FIFA with a resounding majority.
39th FIFA Congress in Frankfurt in 1974
One hundred and twenty-two associations are present when Brazilian João Havelange challenges the incumbent Sir Stanley Rous for the presidency in Frankfurt. Neither candidate gains the two-thirds majority after the first ballot but in the second, which requires a simple majority, Havelange wins by 68 votes to 52. Rous is designated a FIFA Honorary President.
51st FIFA Congress in Paris in 1998
After 24 years in office, Havelange decides not to stand for re-election. The Congress elects Joseph S. Blatter as his successor. Rival Lennart Johansson withdraws after Blatter has gained 111 votes to Johansson's 80 after the first ballot. João Havelange becomes a FIFA Honorary President.