Media Release

Fédération Internationale de Football Association

FIFA-Strasse 20 - P.O. Box - 8044 Zurich - Switzerland

Tel: +41-(0)43-222 7777

About FIFA

European television rights for 2010 FIFA World Cup™ to be marketed by FIFA and EBU

FIFA itself intends to market the 2010 FIFA World Cup™ television rights for Europe in respect of Germany, United Kingdom, Italy, Spain and France. The EBU (European Broadcasting Union) will be responsible for the rest of Europe. The FIFA Executive Committee passed this decision at a meeting in Frankfurt, Germany today – Wednesday, 29 June 2005 – under the chairmanship of President Joseph S. Blatter.  The Executive Committee thus complied with a proposal from the Finance Committee. The European television rights for 2010 amount to a total of approximately EURO 1 billion.

Two options were up for discussion: either for an agency to market the rights, as was the case for 2002 and 2006, or for the combined form as has now been decided upon. A total of 22 applications had been received in response to the tender announced on 21 December 2004. The procedure for the award of non-European television rights for 2010 will begin later this autumn.  

Other executive decisions:
The Football Federation of Australia will be entitled to change from the Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) to the Asian Football Confederation (AFC). After prolonged debate and consideration of the facts at hand, the executive body reached the conclusion that, as all of the parties involved (Confederations of Oceania, Asia and the Australian association) had agreed to the move, the case did not need to be discussed by the FIFA Congress. Australia will therefore belong to the Asian Football Confederation as from 1 January 2006.

As for relations between FIFA and the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA), amendments will be made to the FIFA Statutes and the FIFA Disciplinary Code.

The executive approved the following regulations: Futsal Regulations (additions to the Regulations for the Status and Transfer of Players), procedural rules for the Regulations for the Status and Transfer of Players, the list of members for the Dispute Resolution Chamber and the Regulations for the FIFA Club World Championship 2005 in Japan.

The strategic working group’s proposal for the coordinated international calendar for official and friendly matches for the period 2008-2014 was approved. It will now require ratification by the FIFA Congress in Morocco in September.
The first coordinated international calendar for women’s football was also approved for 2006 und 2007. The ruling for the release of women players (48 hours for friendlies, 4-5 days for qualifying matches and 14 days for final competitions of FIFA and the confederations) will be adopted accordingly in the FIFA Regulations for the Status and Transfer of Players.

As from 2008, a second youth category, namely a U-17 Women's World Championship will be set up in women’s football in line with the U-19 World Championship (U-20 as from 2006) that was first staged in 2002.

In the light of the first successful FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup in Rio de Janeiro in May 2005, the committee decided to split the 16 teams for the final competitions in 2006 and 2007, which will again be staged in Brazil, as follows: AFC (3), CAF (2), CONCACAF (2), CONMEBOL (3 including host), OFC (1) and UEFA (5). For 2006, qualifying matches will, for the first time, be held in all six confederations; the FIFA Futsal Committee will be responsible for the competition.

The proposal from the Committee for Ethics and Fair Play for art. 55 of the Disciplinary Code (Racism) to be brought fully into line with art. 3 of the FIFA Statutes was ratified. FIFA has thus been assured a legal tool with which to sanction member associations that fail to discipline racist incidents in accordance with the FIFA Statutes and the FIFA Disciplinary Code. The Legal Committee will draw up the appropriate amendments.

With regard to betting in football, the Executive Committee ratified the proposal for a suitable early warning system to be tested. Suggestions for such a system will be discussed at the next meeting. The Code of Ethics will be amended so as to prohibit anyone directly involved in a match from betting on that match.

The associations’ FIFA Fair Play Day this year will once again be combined with the UN’s International Day of Peace on 21 September 2005 and will last all week from 19-25 September.

The association of Barbados has been suspended, as one of its members continues to violate the FIFA Statutes although his claims have repeatedly been rejected by ordinary courts of law. The FIFA Disciplinary Committee was ordered to deal with the case.

Furthermore, the executive took note of reports on the following topics:
- FIFA World Youth Championship in the Netherlands (final on 2 July 2005)
- FIFA Confederations Cup 2005 in Germany
- 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™
- 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™
- FIFA Club World Championship 2005 (11-18 December in Tokyo). The group draw will be held in Tokyo on 30 July 2005.
- FIFA/AFC Tsunami Solidarity Fund: So far USD 7.6m of the projected amount of USD 10.5m have been distributed to seven Asian associations.
Goal Programme status: 207 projects in a total of 172 associations
- 55th Ordinary FIFA Congress (Marrakech, 11-12 September 2005).