FIFA World Cup™ finals history
Wales have only appeared at the finals once, in 1958 when they were led by the great John Charles. They reached the quarter-finals after a 2-1 win over returning runners-up Hungary, with a solitary Pele goal then sending them home. They have struggled in qualifying since, coming close in bids to reach 1982 and 1986 but lost out to Czechoslovakia and Scotland respectively on goal difference.

The team
Not lacking in individual talent, The Dragons are blessed with the likes of Gareth Bale and Aaron Ramsey, while Joe Ledley and Joe Allen help make up a dynamic midfield. Behind them, the likes of English Premier League regulars Ben Davies, James Collins and captain Ashley Williams feature in a solid backline.

The coach
Though still a manager in the early stages of his coaching career, aged 44, Chris Coleman already has 12 years’ experience in the hot seat. Since taking charge of the nation he represented 36 times as a player in 2012, there have been promising signs that they could make their return to the World Cup.

The stat
35 –
The number of days after Gareth Bale's 17th birthday when he became Wales' youngest-ever goal-scorer.

The former stars
John Charles, Ian Rush, Gary Speed, Ryan Giggs, Ivor Allchurch, Neville Southall