FIFA World Cup™ finals history
The Republic of Ireland’s breakthrough FIFA World Cup was Italy 1990, featuring a fairytale run to the quarter-finals. They were back in the latter stages four years later, having beaten Italy 1-0 in a famous group opener at New York’s Giants Stadium. While their most recent trip, in 2002, saw Robbie Keane’s last-gasp equaliser against Germany set up a last 16 encounter with Spain, they ultimately lost on penalties.

The team
Talismanic captain Robbie Keane, the leading currently active goalscorer in international football, remains the focal point of the Green Army’s attack. Throughout the squad there is a healthy mix of youth and experience, with speedster Seamus Coleman and the technically astute James McCarthy complimenting veteran defender John O’Shea and the ever-agile Shay Given.

The coach
Martin O’Neill took on the Republic of Ireland role, his first international job, in 2013 after legendary Italian manager Giovanni Trapattoni stepped down. Roy Keane, who starred for the Boys in Green at the 1994 finals, is his assistant.

The stat
2 –
Republic of Ireland have won just twice in 13 World Cup games, but have emerged from their group in all three appearances on the global stage – reaching the quarter-finals in 1990 without winning a single match.

The former stars
Liam Brady, Paul McGrath, Roy Keane