FIFA World Cup™ finals history
Denmark have made it to the finals on four occasions, though it took until 1986 for them to take their debut bow on the world stage. Their next trip, 12 years later, turned out to be their most successful, battling to the quarter-finals only to lose 3-2 against eventual finalists Brazil. The Danes narrowly missed out on the European qualifying play-offs last time out, where a 90th-minute Italy equaliser effectively denied them a best-runners-up spot. A 5-1 defeat of Republic of Ireland in their European play-off secured their place in Russia, having finished as runners-up behind Poland in Group E.

The team
Built around the creative talents of playmaker Christian Eriksen, the Danish side features a blend of veterans and youngsters being integrated into the side. Michael Krohn-Dehli, one of the surprise packages of South Africa 2010, features in midfield with the likes of Simon Kjaer behind him and Nicklas Bendtner in front. The name Schmeichel has returned between the posts in the form of Kasper, son of legendary Danish goalkeeper Peter.

The coach
Morten Olsen, the longest-serving coach in Denmark's history, stepped down after the team failed to qualify for UEFA EURO 2016 and was replaced by Age Hareide. The former Malmo coach arrived in the job with decades of top-level experience, including a five-year stint in charge of Norway's national side.

The stat
129 –
The record number of caps Kasper Schmeichel's father, Peter, holds for Denmark.

The former stars
Peter Schmeichel, Michael Laudrup, Frank Arnesen, Morten Olsen