FIFA World Cup™ history
Peru participated at three FIFA World Cups between Mexico 1970 and Spain 1982, but have since been unable to match the heights of those golden years, leaving their fans disappointed after failing to qualify for subsequent finals. Their only other tournament appearance came at Uruguay 1930, but their best achievements were a sensational run to the quarter-finals in 1970 and reaching the Second Round at Argentina 1978. Peru ended their 36-year drought by finishing fifth in South American qualifying and subsequently defeating New Zealand 2-0 on aggregate in the intercontinental play-off.

The team
Peru are currently going through a phase of re-building after winning the bronze medal at the 2011 Copa America in Argentina but failing to qualify for Brazil 2014. The squad has a mixture of youth and experience, with evergreen veterans such as Claudio Pizarro, Paolo Guerrero, Jefferson Farfan and Juan Vargas complementing the younger generation, including defensive duo Pedro Requena and Gustavo Dulanto.   

The coach
Ricardo Gareca was appointed head coach in 2015 and is only the second Argentinian to take charge of Peru after Angel Fernandez Roca did so in the 1940s and 50s. It is the first time el Tigre has coached a national side, having previously enjoyed success at club level, winning the league title with Universitario de Lima and Velez Sarsfield. Gareca will be hoping to make amends for contributing to Peru’s absence from Mexico 1986, after he equalised for Argentina at 2-2 shortly before the final whistle in the last qualifying game.

The stat
24 – The number of coaches, including Gareca, Peru have had since Spain 1982. Four coaches have had two separate stints at the helm over that same period.

The former stars
Teofilo Cubillas, Hugo Sotil, Hector Chumpitaz, Cesar Cueto, Juan Carlos Oblitas, Franco Navarro, Nolberto Solano, Roberto Palacios