FIFA World Cup™ finals history
Paraguay took part in the very first world finals in Uruguay in 1930, and have since made seven more appearances at the game's showpiece event, the last of them coming at South Africa 2010. It was there that they achieved their best ever performance, reaching the quarter-finals before going down 1-0 to eventual champions Spain.

The team
After missing out on a place at Brazil 2014, La Albirroja are banking on a group of experienced players in their bid to return to the global elite at Russia 2018. Skippered by front man Roque Santa Cruz, Los Guaraníes have a solid core of seasoned performers in Paulo da Silva, Justo Villar, Victor Caceres and Edgar Benitez, a quartet that will be crucial to their chances of challenging for qualification.

The coach
Ramon Angel Diaz was the man chosen to get Paraguay back on track after the disappointments of the last campaign. Nicknamed El Pelado, the Argentinian is the most successful coach ever in the history of Buenos Aires powerhouses River Plate, and has also had spells with Independiente, San Lorenzo and America of Mexico, though this is his first national team assignment. Never afraid to take a risk, Diaz is known for producing attack-minded, entertaining teams. An outstanding finisher in his playing days, he starred in stints with River Plate, Inter Milan and Ligue 1 club Monaco. 

The stat
22 -
The position occupied by Paraguay in the all-time FIFA World Cup table, courtesy of their record of seven wins, ten draws and as many defeats, equivalent to 31 points, the fifth-best tally in South America.

The former stars
Aurelio Gonzalez, Florencio Amarilla, Cayetano Re, Saturnino Arrua, Julio Cesar Romero, Roberto Cabanas, Jose Luis Chilavert, Roberto Acuna, Jose Cardozo, Francisco Arce, Carlos Gamarra, Salvador Cabanas